We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for no particular reason”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
Ranked #12 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Expensive for no particular reason”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Me and my son stayed here a couple of months ago and for the most part I don't feel as though I got enough bang for my buck for the most part.

The main drawback was parking. They charge you about $36 dollars a day and if you lost your parking ticket, like I did at one point, they'll double charge you since they align your ticket number to your room #. When I checked out, something was wrong with the computer so the front desk guy informed me he could e-mail me the bill. To my surprise a couple hours later when I see the e-mail and saw that my credit card was charged $181 for a 3 night stay for parking. Anyways, after 3 different phone calls over a couple of weeks they finally refunded me the difference of what they owed me.

As far as the actual hotel, it's basically a standard US hotel in my eyes. More like a 3* establishment masquerading as a 4* due to name recogintion and reputation. The room I had was a decent size and had a small terrace that was pretty beat up for the most part. The best thing about the room was the bathroom which are huge and obviously recently renovated. Great shower, decent bed.

The service was pretty much non existance for the most part as well. Outside of the front desk clerk who I met when I checked out, I wasn't really impressed with the rest of the staff. They were a little too pretenious for my liking and goes for valet as well.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again unless it was for dirt cheap and/or I had no other options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeityAllah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Los Angeles Century City, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear The_Deity,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I appreciate your positive feedback about our bathroom feature. I am sorry for any shortcomings you had experienced with our staff. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Despite your disappointment I hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    612
    221
    68
    39
See reviews for
461
550
122
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aussie living in Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hadn't stayed in Century City before, but was very impressed with the Intercontinental. I stayed here on a work trip and really enjoyed my stay. I have stayed at the Intercon in Fiji before so had high expectations which the property delivered. The service from the staff was absolutely amazing. The rooms were quite large and the bathroom was huge with loads of room which I really liked. The breakfast here was very good and the location of the property is excellent with a Major shopping Mall down the road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hodgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the start of a California trip while visiting friends in Beverly Hills.

Pros:
- great service, everyone is kind and helpful
- large, sunny room with huge bathroom (shower & tub- bonus!!)
- speedy room service that was delicious and surprisingly affordable
- beautiful lobby
- GORGEOUS pool area with comfy loungers and towels to sit by the pool or hot tub
- gym had a variety of machines and equipment and overlooked the pool
- balcony with sliding doors
- car service to take you where you need to go
- bed was super comfortable!
- quick walk to Century City mall

Cons:
- paying for wifi ... Come on. McDonald's has free wifi, so should the intercontinental.
- bathroom product was not fantastic. I expected better quality.
- patio chairs on the balcony were uncomfortable and rusty
- wallpaper had dings and tears
- no fridge?! So surprising. This also means no cold minibar, so good thing room service is quick if you want a cocktail
- you're not close to anything but the mall

My room looked into the parking lots and back of Fox Studios, which was pretty cool. You couldn't see anyone, but as an out-of-towner I still enjoyed it.

Overall, a pleasant stay and one I would come back to depending on the price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonKate83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We spent three nights and we ate out at a five star restaurants and wanted to put the leftovers in the fridge in our suite, which was chock full of stuff. The hotel team was great and provided us with a loaner fridge for the evening. Exceptional service! The overall service was excellent but the pancakes need work and the bacon needs to be "juicier".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctorbuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very clean, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff and a pretty decent location. It's not super close to Hollywood, but would be a great hotel for business travelers. All rooms have balconies and come with good TVs, a nice coffee machine, etc.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richierich84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for a week with my partner. We had a corner suite room that was perfect for just the two of us. The bed was extremely comfortable. Check in did take a while, but once we were checked in, we were promptly escorted to our room. We didn't have a chance to try out the restaurant since we went out to eat in nearby Beverly Hills a lot, but it looked nice. The bar has a great ambience to it; as well as the outdoor area with a fire pit. Planning on staying again in a couple of weeks, when we are back in LA.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My buddy stayed here and said he didn't reallly care for the location but I thought it was ideal. It seemed secluded but was a short drive from practically anywhere. Beverly Hills was right around the corner, along with Sunset Blvd. and Santa Monica. The staff was friendly. Valet parking was mandatory and pricey. Over $30 a day, plus tipping. That can add up quickly. Didn't take advantage of the house car (wish I would've). Gym facility was nice but small. Too cold to use the pool. When we checked in our room wasn't ready which was surprising since we booked it so far in advance! After waiting an hour and a half we got to our upgraded room and it was very nice. Very large balcony with a view of Hollywood and L.A. Unfortunately the weather was cold and we couldn't really enjoy it the way we would've liked. The last night we were there they hosted the Los Angeles Film Critics Awards. I got an opportunity to see lots of celebrities. They had the red carpet rolled out and it was exciting to see it all firsthand. Definitely cool for a celeb nut like myself. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petemode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hilton
The Beverly Hilton
#7 of 15 in Beverly Hills
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
803 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Los Angeles Century City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Los Angeles Century City

Property: InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
Address: 2151 Avenue of the Stars, Los Angeles, CA 90067-5004 (Formerly Park Hyatt Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#59 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Los Angeles Century City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Los Angeles Century City is a taste of true Hollywood style. Our convenient Westside address is within walking distance of 20th Century Fox Studios, MGM Tower, Beverly Hills Rodeo Drive and upscale shopping at Westfield Century City. A quick drive will take you to the Getty Center, Los Angeles city centre, UCLA or the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Los Angeles Century City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Los Angeles Century City Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing