We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location depends which room you get to standard of room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Delle Stelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Delle Stelle
Ranked #131 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location depends which room you get to standard of room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a great location, in a quiet street just down the street from Hollywood sites. My son was given the Neo Suite which is in the main house, it was clean and modern. We have the cottage which was a street away, it was clean and large, with a bedroom, dining area and kitchen and living room. It is dated and next door to a food van which was noisy when it left early in the morning. It was still a good place to stay even if it felt like you were staying in grandma's cottage.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brightwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    45
    17
    7
    14
See reviews for
42
76
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The smell of the carpet in my cottage suite was not cool. I asked that they add something but it was not the best, i love the cottage for other things but for the most part. The blinds need to be replacing hello they are broken. The light on the porch is a bit rude and yes the kitchen is dated. It’s not worth the money i spent. And a taco truck parked in the back tacky. I may not stay here next time. And i will not let anyone i know stay here. I would have canceled and i should have but i wanted something close. But now that i know that other hotels like the w-mr c and other are nearby stay there. My rate was 189... It was not worth it really was not. Take it from me. The taco truck did it for me. And of course the hard pillows the dated furniture. Very Disappointed. Oh well lesson learn next time I’m staying in west wood. [Sorry guys the torn blinds and the taco truck the bright light and the stinky carpet... did not do it for me. you get a D-i really wanted to like it, but I’m sorry so many things i can complain about. but oh well. lesson learn once again....

Room Tip: choose another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We loved the Caribbean suite in Villa Delle Stelle, we were met at 2.50pm on arrival by a lovely girl who exchanged our keys and answered all our relevant questions on where everything was (supermarket, attractions etc). Our suite had an open plan living and kitchen area, and 1 bedroom and good size bathroom, we also had a small space outdoors which was lovely in the evening to sit and have a glass of wine. We Couldn't believe how central our accommodation was. We had everything on site there was even a full canter of coffee. We only stayed 2 days here we had just come from Santa Monica (which was amazing) we loved the accommodation but didn't think much of Hollywood LA.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belfast16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We recently booked the "Cottage Suite" for a weekend getaway to Los Angeles and Hollywood. The web site talks about a "charming one-bedroom suite" with "rich English detail" and "the feeling of immediate comfort". Our actual experience couldn't have been more different.
Even before opening the door (it's all self-service, they just give you the door code) I couldn't help noticing that something was off: we were greeted by lots of peeling paint and a stick-on letter sign that said "VILLA DELLE STE LE" with a missing "L". The entrance area had not been swept in a while, and the front yard could probably have used some attention from a gardener. "Villa Delle Stelle" is located in a residential area 3 blocks away from Hollywood Blvd, which is a decent location, but in a slightly spotty neighborhood. Let's just say that the "pride of ownership" of home owners in the area is not at its best. Anyway, our first impression was not very favorable.
So, we punched in the door code and were greeted by cheap linoleum floors and a refrigerator that was noticeably titled to one side on the crooked floors. The entrance door itself was not too trust-inspiring, with about a quarter inch gap between the door and the frame that would make it easy for anyone who wanted to force entry (if they couldn't guess the door code).
Oh well, so we drop off our luggage and explore the rest of the place. What we see lines up in no way with the descriptions on the web site. The whole place is shabby, grimy and sloppily maintained. We fully understood that this was an old house, but old houses need maintenance, which clearly did not happen in case of the Villa Delle Stelle. My tip to the owners/operators: at some point, a good cleaning just won't work anymore and you maybe need some new paint, and sometimes, after the tenth layer of paint and spackle, some things just need to be replaced.
The interior design has the appearance of items collected from yard sales, thrift shops and visits to the junkyard, with an IKEA item thrown in here and there. The window treatments are an incongruous mix of cheap drapes and torn or broken window blinds. The chandelier in the bedroom may have once sparkled with crystals but is now merely a grubby skeleton with a few dangling pieces of glass.
The cleanliness of the cottage was also pretty substandard. Despite the overpowering scent of commercial cleaner/disinfectant, we couldn't help noticing cobwebs, grubby corners, a grimy bathtub and dirty window panes (some with home-job pane replacements). To be clear here: we're not talking about a "shabby chic" interior design scheme here; it's just shabby, without the chic.
We couldn't get the TV in the bedroom to work, but luckily at least the in-wall A/C unit worked, albeit somewhat noisily.
I was very surprised to see that the Villa Delle Stelle has generally positive reviews that do not match our own experience. The "Cottage Suite" is not part of the main house on Harold Way but is located in a separate building on La Baig Avenue. I can only imagine that the main building must be much nicer. The "Cottage Suite" definitely does not reflect favorably on the Villa Delle Stelle as a whole, and for more than $200 per night you can do a lot better, even in central Hollywood.

Room Tip: Stay away from the "Cottage Suite"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
335 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at Enchanted Cottage bungalow at VDS. It was spacious, clean and decorated with flair. Loved the full kitchen and outdoor dining area. The bungalow is on a quiet block of similar properties, and we booked it so we could walk to Hollywood Bowl (1.2 miles away; it took us about 45 minutes). We know L.A. well and have never stayed in Hollywood before because it has some real deficits. Some of the 1920s architecture (bungalow courts, Cecil B. DeMille grand apartment buildings) is fantastic. But the place is living mostly off its history. It's jammed with tourists in the daytime (and giant Mickey Mouse molesters). In the evening, Hollywood Blvd. is packed with drunk teens from further inland looking to do what teens do. In all our walking around, we never had the experience we have in Santa Monica or Venice, when we walk past a bar or restaurant and say, "That looks nice; let's walk in and try it." Instead, we drove the short distance east to Thai Town, where you can get some very good Thai food. The distance is less than a mile but we wouldn't walk because the streets are dark, lonely and forbidding.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We are staying in the Hollywood Glamour suite, and it is beautiful. So much cozier and intimate than a hotel. It's nestled between Hillywood & Sunset bulvds, and right around the corner is Roscoe's chicken & waffles (bonus!) I love that it is self check in and no maid service so we have plenty of privacy from the time we get here until we leave.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle Poland B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bishop, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent two nights at the Caribbean Suite and absolutely loved it! The location was great for our mission there, to see a concert at the Fonda Theater and even with just two women there, we felt safe and secure. The accomodations were comfortable and beautiful. Loved how it was decorated inside and out and having some private outdoor space enabled us to relax more than we would have if we'd stayed in a regular hotel. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen was well appointed, so we were able to cook some wonderful meals there. It even came with a bbq on the deck, which we also used. It was a little slice of heaven in the hustle and bustle of Hollywood. This place made us feel very at home and we will definately be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#72 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#69 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
#16 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
#157 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Delle Stelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Delle Stelle

Property: Villa Delle Stelle
Address: 6087 Harold Way, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Delle Stelle 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Delle Stelle means House of the Stars. We recapture the glamour of the silver screen and allows guests to feel what it is like to "live and be treated like stars" from the foothills of the famous Hollywood sign. Co-owned by actors and entrepreneurs Susan Foster and Brogan Lane, each of the five suites are specially designed with a Hollywood legend in mind. Former wife of the late Dudley Moore and celebrity designer, Ms Lane bought the hotel in 2004 and renovated the neighborhood treasure originally built in 1924 to accommodate silent film stars including Buster Keaton for Columbia Studios (now Gower Studios). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Delle Stelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Delle Stelle Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Delle Stelle
Delle Stelle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing