We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem! - Cottage Suite”
Review of Villa Delle Stelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Delle Stelle
Ranked #110 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A cute and user friendly cottage, right in Hollywood, just off Sunset Boulevard! Large living and dining space with large flat screen TV, and a outside, lit porch with a double seat (was nice to sit out in the evening) - located in a mainly residential street, so felt comfortable and safe. The bathroom was small (the bath very small) but the house has original features so one must appreciate this. Bedroom is also small (room enough just for the double bed - which was Dudley Moore's, antique carved bed frame!) – large flat screen TV in bedroom also. Huge fridge freezer and cooker but I found not enough glasses (we had 4 in total and only 1 was a wine glass - to be fair, I didn't raise this and request anymore, we made do - I am sure they would have been provided) - plenty of towels were provided and there was tea, coffee, sugar and milk for our arrival. Overall a real pleasant stay - I would return here, without a doubt!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treensie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 205 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here end of March for a week in the Caribbean suite.
The location is very good for visiting LA. Also the Vine metro station is only 10 min away. However, if you plan to leave LA it takes about an hour to get outside.
The accommodation itself was very pretty and had everything we needed. However, the parking does only accommodate compact cars, as stated on their website.
There was no noise from the other streets and at night it felt very safe.
If I was planning to stay in LA again, I would definitely consider this place again.
Furthermore, the staff was very helpful and friendly.
We were very happy with our choice.

Room Tip: Cottage suite is not very nice or modern, I would recommend it if you want value for your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kati L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A truly delightful place to stay right in the heart of Hollywood - situated between Hollywood and Sunset Boulevards. We stayed in the Parisian Suite, a beautifully decorated two-bedroom apartment that suited us perfectly. The photos don't really do the accommodation justice - the main bedroom is enormous, and there's a dining area with a small balcony as well as a roomy kitchen. The second bedroom, with two single beds, is smaller (though it's still massive by Parisian standards), but still has a large closet, and a large TV in the wardrobe! The decor is lovely, with lots of details and murals - a particularly nice one in the bathroom. The kitchen is pretty well equipped - all we missed was a bread knife ... The suite is on the upper floor, next to the office, with the ever-helpful and welcoming Brogan and Kirsten. All in all it was pretty much everything I'd hoped for and more. The Australian reviewers below complained about the noise of sirens and traffic - well, yes, as you're slap bang in the centre of Hollywood, there will be sirens every now and then. And yes, a couple of times there was traffic out front early in the morning, which woke us until we got used to it. But on the other hand, it's rather special to have breakfast in the morning sun watching hummingbirds on the flowers growing around the balcony.

I'd definitely stay here again. And again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Villa Delle Stelle is too quaint and charming to be called a hotel. Saw a concert at the Fonda Theater on Hollywood Blvd and by chance book a "room" here because it's close to the Fonda.We arrived at our "Neo Classic" villa and I instantly loved the way it looks from the outside, from a very private, beautiful porch we entered into a gorgeous bedroom with the best quality linens and the most comfortable bed. Next into 'our' full kitchen with all the comforts of home, through the kitchen to a comfortable, beautifully decorated dinette/living room with a book shelf full of great books.

The location is in what I would call the 'older, classier' area of Hollywood, beautiful, italian-influenced architecture, just down the street from one of the originials - Paramount Studios, and a view of the Hollywood sign from every street corner. Great restaurants too.

We were in awe truly. We're going back just to enjoy 'our' villa!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of the rooms. We loved the Neo Classic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in the 'Art deco' suite.

As other reviewers say it's a bit out of the way and doesn't seem like a nice neighbourhood. It's around the corner from 'Rocko's chicken & waffles' so expect noise.

The Art Deco suite is at the front on the street & parking is right out front but ungated/not secured at all. It's a very short spot causing the back of the car to hang over the footpath & you can be fined for having your tyres on the footpath so look out! A parking cop kept insisting we move as far forward as possible almost causing us to scratch the nose of the vehicle.
Looks odd at the front. Buzz through gate with code (which can be easily stepped over) and up 6 or so stairs to porch. Then dial code to get into your door. There are four doors on the porch in total. Once inside there is a steep staircase immediately inside the door & another door at the top which can only be locked when you're home (they don't give you a key to lock when you are leaving - there are two locks on front door though).

More about the suite-
The good:
- Seemless checkin (no need for reception)
- King bed
- soft sheets
- parking space near room
- water temp control
- 2 toilets (one in bathroom)
- Great iron & ironing board
- tv's in rooms, stereo with radio in kitchen, medium fridge, full gas oven, cooktop with overhead fan
- Beautiful old world French feel
- Beautiful flowers (in springtime)
- View of Hollywood sign from 2nd bedroom window
- Front & back entrance/exit
- terry towelling robes
- printer
- Lots of drawers in second bedroom for clothes
- 1 free clean a week
- dimmable lights
- heat/aircon
- lovely operators (Christen & older lady) Older lady was very nice about us locking ourselves out (due to electronic locking system) & helped us get a key even though no-one was in the office

The bad:
- Old place with thin walls/gaps around windows/doors so can hear everything outside house/room clearly including traffic from main road & sirens etc
- curtains don't block out light
- 1 x outside coin operated washer / dryer servicing all suites. Must supply own suds
- Few power outlets (none by bedside)
- Heavy animals living in roof - fight at night waking us up
- Cars often parked in our spot - frustrating to have to find them to move car
- Painted back stairs without telling us making lots of noise in process (ill feeling could have been avoided if we were told)
- Knob missing from stove
- fan in bathroom super noisy
- glass panelled doors to bedrooms so light gets in when closed - can hear everything going on on otherwise anyway so may as well be doorless rooms
- Strange bath/ shower combo - high/deep square bath (no lie back) with rain shower (loved it), small plug hole not suitable for rainshower & not recommended for bathing children
- water takes a while to warm up
- Small bed in 2nd room (might be too sml for tall adult)
- Printer in 2nd bedroom so can't be used while someone asleep
- Entrance located in master bedroom so you must walk through master room to leave out front door
- Exit located in bathroom so can't exit if someone in bathroom
- Not clean under floor rugs (we needed to move hide away from dining table in case food got dropped on it)
- Lots of things missing from kitchen (no teaspoons, no tea towels, nothing to clean up broken glass, no baking trays for oven)
- Not much storage in master for clothes
- No spare sheets if you need to change them
- The dishwasher power was very low & ran out after a week - it wasn't replaced when the cleaner came.

Overall we wouldn't stay here again.. There were just too many inconveniences and the state of the property is too low for what you pay. We felt annoyed to be mislead that this would be an upmarket establishment when it's a lot lower in class than that.

Definitely not recommended for families with young children. Due to difficulty to bathe them in strange bath/shower setup, precarious balcony, no block out curtains for day naps, noisy home so adults have to be super quiet for naps/bedtime, noisy neighbours, noisy main road nearby, not best neighbourhood, repairs going on without notice etc

That said, it's a charming French-type hideaway that would be sufficient for people spending less time here and more out and about- provided they were made aware and happy with the above pros & cons.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scarletrose44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is certainly an unusual place to stay, but we thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed in the one bedroom Neo Classic room located downstairs in the main building. A little strange back of the building entrance and very narrow parking place, but once we entered the apartment we were glad we booked here and will certainly be back. Wonderful large kitchen which was stocked with all the equipment you would need for a long stay, even though we only were there for two nights. Nice living room and a small private patio to enjoy a glass of wine. Being in the back of the building it was very quiet, with no street traffic. The neighborhood might concern some people, but it is Hollywood, and that is to be expected.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank monarchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed in the Enchanted Cottage August 2-5, 2012. We were pleasantly surprised with the room. We had a living room with flat screen t.v. that was beautifully decorated, a full kitchen with all utensils, and a nice big bathroom with shower only, but also beautifully decorated. The master bedroom is a pretty decent size with a beautiful comfy large bed. Sheets are fantastic and so soft! Room is decorated very parisian, includes flat screen tv in bedroom as well. There was a second bedroom in this unit with a daybed and table and chairs inside. It was clean, beautiful and exceeded our expectations. We will for sure be back!

Room Tip: The parking is very limited, if you choose to stay in the unit rent a compact car. Very hard to park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetsetters916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#84 of 355 in Los Angeles
350 reviews
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#74 of 355 in Los Angeles
580 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#28 of 355 in Los Angeles
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hampton Inn & suites Los Angeles / Hollywood
Hampton Inn & suites Los Angeles...
#111 of 355 in Los Angeles
50 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#79 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,800 reviews
Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
#159 of 355 in Los Angeles
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Delle Stelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Delle Stelle

Address: 6087 Harold Way, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $203 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Delle Stelle 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Delle Stelle means House of the Stars. We recapture the glamour of the silver screen and allows guests to feel what it is like to "live and be treated like stars" from the foothills of the famous Hollywood sign. Co-owned by actors and entrepreneurs Susan Foster and Brogan Lane, each of the six suites are specially designed with a Hollywood legend in mind. Former wife of the late Dudley Moore and celebrity designer, Ms Lane bought the hotel in 2004 and renovated the neighborhood treasure originally built in 1924 to accommodate silent film stars including Buster Keaton for Columbia Studios (now Gower Studios). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Villa Delle Stelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Delle Stelle Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Delle Stelle
Delle Stelle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing