We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different style of hotel”
Review of Villa Delle Stelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Delle Stelle
Ranked #119 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Different style of hotel”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is an interesting place. We stayed in two different suites, the Hollywood Glamour Suite and the Caribbean Suite. We needed two bedrooms so these worked out fine. The living room has been converted into a bedroom in both of these suites. The location is convenient, although a bit sketchy. There is an abandoned house across the street and some “interesting” locals hanging around outside at night. The biggest complaint I have is that the gardeners next door came at 7am on the second morning. Yup…7!! Really?! I normally get up early, but on vacation I might like to sleep in! Overall, the place has some charm, but certainly not my favorite in the area. One final note…the parking is SMALL and steep for the Caribbean Suite, so if a guest does not pull their car all the way in, good luck getting by. It does mention “compact cars only” on the website, and they are not kidding!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bbshz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    46
    20
    7
    13
See reviews for
46
79
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in the cottage suite which is just around the corner from the other main apartments. Although it is only one bedroom, the couch folds out into a bed, on which the staff put an extra mattress. We found this suite excellent value for money, the staff were very helpful and friendly, helping out with anything within minutes of contact. The location is great, we would just walk to shops or Hollywood, although a rental car was essential (and GPS) as LA is huge. The suite comes with a carpark, which is pretty normal size for anyone outside of America. The suite was tidy and prepared when we arrived, and was spacious and quiet for relaxing. The porch is a great place to just sit and take in the morning. Would recommend this place to anyone.

We would also recommend going to Long Beach and the Warner Brothers tour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel_Kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Actually, it was a one-bedroom apartment with private terrace, kitchen and a kind of guest room with small sofa. Stylish and comfortable, very American. We spent there just one night, but it looks to be ideal for long-stay vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MosesMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a little jewel of a place. Stayed in the Enchanted Cottage for 1 night while in LA to see a play. Very well equipped, comfortable and inviting. With a kitchen, fridge, microwave, etc., it would be ideal for a longer stay. This unit could actually accommodate a 2nd couple using the couch. Parking spot a bit tight, and this is not your conventional hotel or B&B, but definitely worth a visit. A good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

so my first trip to LA was a very LA experience I guess, had made a booking at an 'luxury home' in the Hollywood Hills to find out that we had been duped by a misleading advert on airbnb. After that traumatic experience I remembered some friends saying that they had recently stayed at Villa Delle Stelle, so that was my first call to find somewhere new to stay. Susan answered the phone and was complete lifesaver, I explained the experience that I had just been through with the previous booking and she swept into action on making something available for us straight away (even though it was after hours). Upon arrival Susan greeted us out the front (we had 2x cars and there is only a space for one, yet she made another one available for us!) and we were welcomed into the Villa. Upon opening the door we were overwhelmed with the presentation, style and attention to detail before us. It was everything we were expecting from our previous 'luxury home' and more. I wish I had listened to my friends recommendation in the first place, Susan was the most gracious host and the apartment was beautifully appointed. (I am a stage lighting designer and the apartment was beautifully lit!). I would wholeheartedly recommend this accommodation over a hotel anyday! If you want to be close to the action in hollywood, this place is perfect! thank you Villa Delle Stelle!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattlx m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Wow! What a beautiful villa! I was gobsmacked by the beauty and elegance of this place. The managers clearly have excellent taste in decor and beyond that were so helpful to us during our stay.

I would recommend this place to anyone going to LA that wants to be close to action yet have their own bit of paradise.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in The Cottage, just around the corner from the original Villa Delle Stelle. It was cute and well-furnished with everything you'd need for a multi-day stay. The bedding was plush and the robes were fabulous. The staff was nice and even held our bags the day we checked out so we could go exploring some more. The food truck was next door to us, but we didn't notice any annoying noise (and we can be cranky about noise). Perhaps the noise is a sometimes problem?

The Cottage is not quite as cute as the other suites, but for the price it's an absolute steal. You have so much space and as I mentioned, it is very well-furnished. It was a fabulous find and we had a wonderful stay. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for an off-the-beaten-path experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuevoleon58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#28 of 351 in Los Angeles
401 reviews
Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
#157 of 351 in Los Angeles
179 reviews
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#77 of 351 in Los Angeles
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#74 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,725 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#111 of 351 in Los Angeles
668 reviews
Hollywood
Le Bon Hotel
Le Bon Hotel
#232 of 351 in Los Angeles
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Delle Stelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Delle Stelle

Property: Villa Delle Stelle
Address: 6087 Harold Way, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Delle Stelle 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Delle Stelle means House of the Stars. We recapture the glamour of the silver screen and allows guests to feel what it is like to "live and be treated like stars" from the foothills of the famous Hollywood sign. Co-owned by actors and entrepreneurs Susan Foster and Brogan Lane, each of the six suites are specially designed with a Hollywood legend in mind. Former wife of the late Dudley Moore and celebrity designer, Ms Lane bought the hotel in 2004 and renovated the neighborhood treasure originally built in 1924 to accommodate silent film stars including Buster Keaton for Columbia Studios (now Gower Studios). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Delle Stelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Delle Stelle Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Delle Stelle
Delle Stelle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing