We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for lax overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Ranked #40 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“perfect for lax overnight”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Sheraton Gateway. YOu cannot open a window there. I thought that I would suffocate in that hotel room
Here you can open the window. The bistro is good . Food quality and service nice.
BEWARE of rooms near the elevator. You will hear the "bing" everytime someone goes in to the elevator.

Sometimes this hotel is heavily booked. Then the price is out of line. So you might have to search elsewhere for a better deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irvinggetthecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    403
    113
    23
    16
See reviews for
193
250
86
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way to Buenos Aires. The hotel is very near LAX - just minures away and very convenient. We were given a room on the second floor but it was quiet on the whole and I rather enjoyed the view of tress outside our window. The room was rather large and bare but in contrast, the bathroom was small, making it necessary for the washbasin to be located in the bedroom itself. The beds were comfortable.
In general, the staff was friendly but friendliness alone is not enough. There seems to be a rather casual and lax (pardon the pun) attitude to providing service. Let me elaborate. To a question on when we should get ready to board the free shuttle for the airport the next morning, we were told that there was no fixed time for the shuttle. The best the concierge could do was to say that it ran frequently but as it was a shared shuttle with other Marriott hotels in LAX, there was no fixed schedule. We were also told that if the shuttle arrived and there were no guests waiting, it would just take off after unloading passengers. As we had a 30 minute wait for the shuttle to take us to the hotel from the airport, we decided to get ready for an earlier shuttle so that if we missed it, we could still catch the next one and not be late for our check in. The shuttle arrived after a 15 minute wait. Similarly when we approached the front desk to purchase our tickets for the Manhattan Beach trolley, we were told that the person who had the key to the drawer holding the tickets had "gone somewhere" and we would be better off purchasing the trolley tickets from the Radisson Hotel next door. At the Radisson, we were served promptly and given helpful advice on what we could expect to see and do at Manhattan Beach and the Village. I think we'll stay at the Radisson the next time we have a stopover at LAX.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essie2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I would definitely recommend a stay here for people/families flying in and out of LAX. The location could not be better. I found the price to be very reasonable. Check in was honestly the fastest I have experienced, especially since we had already prepaid for the room via a travel website. After a long international flight with lots of waiting through immigration, baggage pick-up, and customs, the last thing one wants to do is wait to check in to a hotel. Check in took less than 5 minutes...maybe 3?

The room was HUGE with two queens. Beds were comfortable. I thought it was strange that the sink was in the main room and not in the bathroom, but that was a minor issue for me. We asked for a rollaway bed for our 3 year old and got a crib with no blankets. I was too tired to ask for a different option, so I am not sure if they have larger beds for rollaway. We heard no noise, and would have slept like babies if it hadn't been for darned jetlag.

Be aware that you must pay for valet parking of your car, which was $12. Not sure if the other hotels in the area also charge this.

Free Wi-Fi for general use of checking mail. You can pay if you want a faster connection. There is a cafe and a little mini-market in the lobby. The cafe opens at 6:30, but if you are up earlier the market is open 24 hours a day and has a selection of some premade sandwiches, yogurt, hot/cold cereal. Perfect for kids who wake up at 4:30 am and starving. Darned jet lag!

There is a fitness center, but I did not check it out. There is shuttle service to and from the airport that we did not use.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for a single night, arrived more than 3 hours late at 130am. Service was great, the lady at the desk helped us as much as she could. Shuttle WAS on time, contrary to a lot of other reviews. We used the shuttle four times in our one day layover. Once early morning, then once each way to the flyaway bus, and then back to the airport the next evening. We only ever waited max 12 minutes. That is pretty reliable.
They were accommodating and let us check out late for no charge.
Helped us with quick places to eat.
And stored our luggage even though it was full.
Very helpful, clean room, clean bed, comfy sleep. I would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley_ducky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The bad:
- Some road noise which may keep you up if you're a light sleeper.
- Free shuttle bus is supposed to run every 15 minutes from LAX -> Marriott. Ours took over 30 minutes to show up.
- Shower takes a long time to warm up. It also has a weird handle that rotates right around from cold to hot and then back into what looks like cold again, but is actually hotter. So if the water isn't hot enough, keep rotating in the same direction until it is.
- The fitness center at least at a glance is fairly basic, though probably more than sufficient for cardio exercise.
- Shower head is installed low, so if you're a tall person it can be somewhat inconvenient.

The good:
- Close to the airport
- Clean, modern and relatively spacious rooms
- Staff friendly
- Food at the bistro is decent

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have Platinum status with Marriott Rewards so I feel more than qualified to review this property and unfortunately, while adequate and comfortable, it lacks too much.

First, there is no pool, merely a hot tub. There is no restaurant but the Bistro food is adequate, even good depending. Much to my surprise it closes at times during the day and one has to be content with wrapped sandwiches from a cooler for snacks during those times. Breakfast is not free. Parking is valet only at $20 / night. There is no room service.

The rooms are large, clean and well appointed but mine had no soap or shampoo when I first checked in. Went down to lobby early morning to get some but no clerk to be found. Had to pick up a desk phone and dial "0" to get one to emerge from the office.Towels are rough and you can read a newspaper through the toilet paper! T V channels include several premiums such as National Geographic and A & E.

Location is very convenient to LAX and prices are reasonable. All in all the place is adequate for a short business stay but nothing special for a getaway or romance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Convenient. Room was clean and in good shape. If you are driving here, understand that you MUST use valet parking for $18/night (no choice, even though I parked my rental car by myself in a parking space that wasn't marked "valet parking only"). No restaurant. No frills. Next time I'll try the Sheraton a few doors down. The Sheraton has a nice Italian restaurant (Paparazzi - we enjoyed supper there) Starbucks, shops, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nohonative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Hyatt Regency Los Angeles International Airport
LAX Area
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North
LAX Area
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
#66 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,654 reviews
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#70 of 351 in Los Angeles
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Address: 6161 W Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045-5310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Los Angeles Lax/Century Boulevard Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Marriott
Los Angeles Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing