We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hosts, great room, delicious food and perfect location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Cottage B & B
Ranked #3 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts, great room, delicious food and perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Bob and Ahuva are friendly, caring and great fun. Each day begins with a delicious breakfast, freshly prepared downstairs by Bob and Ahuva. Sitting around the dining table with other guests is a perfect way to share travel stories and tips before you set off for the day. The B&B is located in a quiet street, lined with well manicured gardens to enjoy as you stroll to or drive to your destination for the day. The Garden Cottage is also surrounded by plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. My husband and I would definitely love to stay with Bob and Ahuva again when visiting LA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    20
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
163
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were cheerfully greeted, shown around and felt much welcomed.
We took 2 upstairs rooms and practically have the whole upstairs, including sitting room, dining room and kitchen to ourselves. During breakfast we met some of the nicest people.
Our 2 nights stay there was very memorable. the neighborhood is quiet and yet reasonably close to good restaurants, markets and shopping.

Room Tip: Take the 2 rooms upstairs and even though the 2 rooms share one toilet, you still have a lot of spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Don't look no further and book the Garden Cottage in L.A.
The place is ran by the most friendly,helpfull couple in the city. It is located in a quiet residential street ,and yet within a 10 minute drive from Beverly Hills, Hollywood,within walking distance of Farmers Market and the Grove.
Our room, spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated. Breakfast delicious and plentifull, served on a long table together with other most friendly guests from all over the world.
When going back to L.A. ,we most certainly know where to stay!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jef06202010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a 2 night stay here back in August last year... it wasn't long enough!
We stayed in the cottage at the rear, absolutely gorgeous, it felt like we were in our own secret garden out there.
There is nothing to fault here.
Very Clean
Bed was so comfortable
Breakfast is amazing, it's the best breakfast I've ever had (I can still remember it vividly)!
All amenities you need
Large kitchen & dining, separate lounge
Large bathroom
So close to major site seeing adventures
Walking distance to beautiful restaurants or casual late night eateries (we had fresh sushi at 11.30 one night)
The hosts are fantastic, warm, funny and friendly, and there's a bit of quirkiness which I love
We felt so at home and can still thinking about the next trip we're planning!!

Room Tip: Cottage gave lots of personal space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HMsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beautiful gardens.
Very quiet.
Near Beverly Hills.
Near grocery stores and restaurants.
Near bus stops if necessary.
Perfect for a few days in L.A.
Thank you !
(french "just married" couple)
American people are welcome in France, be sure !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DUBLEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a terrific stay at the cottage. Bob made us feel very welcome. The cottage has lots of character, the same could be said of Bob. The gardens are beautiful and at night they are lit up with fairy lights in the trees. The BnB is located within easy walking distance to restaurants, bus stops, Farmers Market and The Grove. We did a lot of walking which hopefully keep some of the weight piling up as we sampled some very nice restaurants. The breakfast Bob provided was fantastic and filled us up till well into the afternoon. If we ever visit LA I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Loved it! The Garden Cottage is in a very nice LA's neighborhood. Ahuva and Bob are wonderful. They will make you feel like you are at home. We arrived later in the evening, and they upgraded our room without charging more. Little details that every traveler appreciate! Thank you, thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARJ-MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#31 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Cottage B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Cottage B & B

Property: Garden Cottage B & B
Address: 8318 W 4th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Garden Cottage Hotel Los Angeles
Garden Cottage Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing