We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Cottage B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Cottage B & B
Save
You added Garden Cottage B & B to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as part of our 3 week road trip. We only stayed for one night as it was a whistle stop tour of LA before moving up the coast.

We stayed in the little cottage in the gardens behind the main house and it was wonderful. The cottage was spotless and really beautiful.

Breakfast from Ahuva was one of the best I had across the whole 3 weeks, wonderful fresh light ingredients and a perfect way to start the day, all wonderfully served up in our own little cottage kitchen by Bob and Ahuva.

Bob was really helpful and friendly, making the reservations, arranging parking, and checking out were all effortless and he had some good recommendations during our stay.

The B&B is a short walk away from an old market area and easy to find. I would defiantly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The cottage in the garden is wonderfull and only a little extra so well worth treating yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy-n-adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
156
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
381 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We and another couple booked the garden cottage and nearby garden room for a weekend. The combination was perfect--the room charming and spacious; the cottage well equipped, cozy, and the perfect hang-out place. The kitchen and dining area has everything you would want for cooking in pricey West Hollywood. But don't cook breakfast--theirs was wonderful.

The Garden Cottage was nearby the LACMA and Page Museums, The Magic Castle, and a pretty drive through Beverly Hills to the Ghetty. You are ten minutes from 50 restaurants and 100s of shops.

Most important for us, however, was the retreat in the city. Nothing 'hotel' about this place, including the rate. The house and cottage are on a tree lined street of charming homes, and surrounded by fountains and plants. The owners top it all off--personable, witty, accommodating.

All the reviews are true.

Room Tip: Book the cottage. For twenty dollars more you gain a spacious living room, dining area, and terrifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I just spent 4 nights at this B&B. Its location is hard to beat. We had to be close to Cedars Sinai Hospital and could walk there in 10-15 minutes. The prices we paid was similar to hotels quite a distance from the hospital. The price includes a hot full breakfast, internet and parking. What we got was quite amazing. We spent 3 nights in the cottage in the back of the main house. For $25 a night more you can have this 1-bedroom suite with a fully functional kitchen behind a gate. The living room has a day bed that we paid extra for another guest for those nights. The ambiance is unbelievable especially since you are 2 blocks from 3rd Street. There are water features, sculptures and plants everywhere in the backyard. You can't hear any traffic and it's like you are by a quiet stream. We spent the 4th night on the second floor of the main house due to a prior reservation. Ahuva and Bob were excellent hosts. They carried a delicious breakfast to you every morning. Ahuva especially loved to tell you the names of all of the exotic plants on her property. We would come back to Garden Cottage anytime in the future.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay in the cottage in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

At the risk of not being able to book a stay here the next time we want to visit LA, my husband and I will add our accolades to the ever-expanding list. We stayed in the charming cottage for 3 nights, and what a wonderful experience it was! Spacious, clean, and comfy. Bob not only made us delicious breakfasts every day, but delivered them with a smile and kept us amused with his many entertaining stories. The garden area is lovely if you want to spend some time outside.

The location is great--close enough to our son and daughter-in-law's apartment, LACMA, The Grove, Farmer's Market, etc. but in a quiet residential area away from all the traffic and noise . We'll be back soon. I hope!

Room Tip: Try to book the cottage if you plan to stay for several days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizajane47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwpoort, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here last summer, with our son. Indeed, no exaggeration in the other comments.
Excellent breakfast, very cozy and clean rooms, good location for our travel plans.
And the welcome by Bob and Ahuva is heartwarming. They were able to help us with all the information and requests we had.
This was the best place out of all the places we stayed at on our 3 week trip.
Wish there were more places like this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

There's not much I can add to what others have already said: the location is perfect, the accommodations SO comfortable and restful and the hosts great.
I chose the location because I wanted to be able to walk to the LACMA. It was a perfect distance. Also walked along 3rd Street (great small shops and restaurants), to the Farmer's Market and The Grove shopping centre.
I wished I could have stayed longer...I was THAT comfortable.
Thank you, Bob & Ahuva. I hope I can come to stay again.

Susan

Room Tip: Separate cottage with it's own kitchen can very easily accommodation 2 + people. I was on my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, MA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

As others have documented in their reviews, it's understandable why this B&B rates so high in the LA area. It's situated in a very nice neighborhood, close to the Farmer's Market and the Grove, but just far enough off the main road to be very quiet. We stayed in the Terrace Room and really like the feature of having our own deck. The room was spotlessly maintained by people who take pride in what they do. However, the best part of our experience was getting to know Bob and Ahuva. They're two of the nicest people you'd every want to meet. If and when I go back to LA, I'll go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roamers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#6 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#23 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Central L.A
SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills
SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills
#39 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Cottage B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Cottage B & B

Property: Garden Cottage B & B
Address: 8318 W 4th St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Garden Cottage Hotel Los Angeles
Garden Cottage Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing