We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Cottage B & B
Ranked #4 of 94 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I just spent 4 nights at this B&B. Its location is hard to beat. We had to be close to Cedars Sinai Hospital and could walk there in 10-15 minutes. The prices we paid was similar to hotels quite a distance from the hospital. The price includes a hot full breakfast, internet and parking. What we got was quite amazing. We spent 3 nights in the cottage in the back of the main house. For $25 a night more you can have this 1-bedroom suite with a fully functional kitchen behind a gate. The living room has a day bed that we paid extra for another guest for those nights. The ambiance is unbelievable especially since you are 2 blocks from 3rd Street. There are water features, sculptures and plants everywhere in the backyard. You can't hear any traffic and it's like you are by a quiet stream. We spent the 4th night on the second floor of the main house due to a prior reservation. Ahuva and Bob were excellent hosts. They carried a delicious breakfast to you every morning. Ahuva especially loved to tell you the names of all of the exotic plants on her property. We would come back to Garden Cottage anytime in the future.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay in the cottage in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenverKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 308 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

At the risk of not being able to book a stay here the next time we want to visit LA, my husband and I will add our accolades to the ever-expanding list. We stayed in the charming cottage for 3 nights, and what a wonderful experience it was! Spacious, clean, and comfy. Bob not only made us delicious breakfasts every day, but delivered them with a smile and kept us amused with his many entertaining stories. The garden area is lovely if you want to spend some time outside.

The location is great--close enough to our son and daughter-in-law's apartment, LACMA, The Grove, Farmer's Market, etc. but in a quiet residential area away from all the traffic and noise . We'll be back soon. I hope!

Room Tip: Try to book the cottage if you plan to stay for several days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizajane47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here last summer, with our son. Indeed, no exaggeration in the other comments.
Excellent breakfast, very cozy and clean rooms, good location for our travel plans.
And the welcome by Bob and Ahuva is heartwarming. They were able to help us with all the information and requests we had.
This was the best place out of all the places we stayed at on our 3 week trip.
Wish there were more places like this.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

There's not much I can add to what others have already said: the location is perfect, the accommodations SO comfortable and restful and the hosts great.
I chose the location because I wanted to be able to walk to the LACMA. It was a perfect distance. Also walked along 3rd Street (great small shops and restaurants), to the Farmer's Market and The Grove shopping centre.
I wished I could have stayed longer...I was THAT comfortable.
Thank you, Bob & Ahuva. I hope I can come to stay again.

Susan

Room Tip: Separate cottage with it's own kitchen can very easily accommodation 2 + people. I was on my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadaSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

As others have documented in their reviews, it's understandable why this B&B rates so high in the LA area. It's situated in a very nice neighborhood, close to the Farmer's Market and the Grove, but just far enough off the main road to be very quiet. We stayed in the Terrace Room and really like the feature of having our own deck. The room was spotlessly maintained by people who take pride in what they do. However, the best part of our experience was getting to know Bob and Ahuva. They're two of the nicest people you'd every want to meet. If and when I go back to LA, I'll go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Since, our son lives in LosAngeles , our daughter got us a 2 night stay at the Garden Cottage as a Christmas present. When our son and his wife had their first child in September, we used the gift to stay there the last 2 nights of our trip. It lives up to all the praise it has been given. The location is convenient to museums and the Farmers' Market . The rooms are spacious, the garden is serene and the breakfast is so tasty. Ahuva and Bob are gracious hosts. Our first night was spent in the garden cottage which was spacious and had a separate bedroom and good size kitchen where our breakfast was served. Since it was already booked for the second night, we switched to another room which also had very comfortable accommodations. Linens are especially luxurious. Ahuva and Bob made sure we had an early breakfast so we could get to the airport on time. This is definitely a destination to return to.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBTRAVELPhoenixvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

After a 3-night stay at the Garden Cottage on our recent trip to LA, I can see why this place has the #1 spot of the B&B ratings in the city. My husband and I stayed in the Garden View room upstairs in the back of the house. The queen-size bed was heavenly, and the room was quiet except for the soothing sound of the fountains in the back garden.

I apprecciated the uncluttered decor, the large closet with plenty of room to put away suitcases, and the little touches like the fresh flowers around the house. The house was spotless, and I enjoyed sitting outside on the small terrace adjoining the dining room early in the morning. There is also a nice sitting room for use by the guests and a self-service kitchen where you can make coffee or tea.

The house is in a beautiful old neighborhood, within walking distance of the restaurants at the Farmers' Market and the shopping on 3rd street. The hosts and hostess, Bob and Ahuva, truly seem to enjoy their guests and take great care of them. The morning breakfasts are delicious, plentiful, and prepared fresh every day.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pink_Azalea429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#37 of 354 in Los Angeles
826 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,386 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#125 of 354 in Los Angeles
303 reviews
Central L.A
SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Cottage B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Cottage B & B

Address: 8318 W 4th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range: $209 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Garden Cottage B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Cottage Hotel Los Angeles
Garden Cottage Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing