We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal in L.A.”
Review of Providence

Providence
Reserve with OpenTable
Providence is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 10,038 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Hollywood
Cross street: Wilcox & Cole
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Meal in L.A.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Providence is by far the most memorable meal I have had in L.A. Terrific for a special occasion (I was sitting next to Bobby Flay and wife on their wedding anniversary). The service is impeccable and the food very well though out. Heavy on the seafood. I've been her twice and had a great meal both times. I highly recommend it if you can afford it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyDee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    94
    41
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nover Disappoint”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Service is always great, the restaurant is never stuck-up or pretentious. They care about the experience and the food. I have never had a bad meal here. Personally, I think their seafood choices are some of the best you can get anywhere. They make you feel at ease, and to really enjoy the whole experience. All the services are top notch, attentive without being intruding. This is a gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank semanticvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Once Excellent, Now Room for Improvement.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I find myself a bit strained to give this restaurant a three star rating, as it has proven to be worthy of more in the past, but I am basing this review as representative of my more current experience. My prior visit had been for the Chef's tasting menu some two years ago and was absolutely fantastic, if not a little heavy on my budget, but I recall thinking that the price was justified by the level of quality presented in the food as well as the incredibly attentive accommodation provided by the staff.

This visit however, while the food was still of impeccable quality, was not nearly as satisfying. Nothing of the food was bad (indeed some things like the shrimp amuse bouche were phenomenal), however the service was lacking for this level of dining, with water left unfilled and a general aloofness from the staff. There were "nickle and dime" charges for things such as more bread (+$8), and exchanging the sweet dessert for cheese (+$12) that seemed silly given that we were spending some $500 on the whole.

The restaurant still serves up some very good food, but the overall experience is not quite as good as I had remembered. Hopefully it was just an off night, and I will return some day to give them another chance. Nevertheless, a restaurant commanding such prices and carrying such accolades should have their feet held close to the fire.

I think that generally speaking, this restaurant serves better as an experience for two, rather than for a larger group of people. On that note, when making your reservation, I would request to be seated in the smaller wing of the restaurant rather than the large center room. It offers a cozier, more intimate and rustic feel in there, whereas the central room feels a bit crowded and can definitely get noisy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Geothrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Always memorable”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Eat here every summer when I am in LA. food is imaginative and so well presented. The staff are knowledgeable and helpful. But there is something slightly corporate and cold about the place. That said it doesn't diminish from the food at all, it's just that it feels very impersonal. Again, food is unbeatable!! To me the best in LA, so go somewhere else to feel warm and fuzzy! But come for the food, you will never forget it!

Ps. Can easily bring children to introduce them to great food. Mine loved it and waitress was so warm with them.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Joke ambience. If you like to be seated in a closet and pay big money for small portions this is your restaurant”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Bring your magnificent glasses to see your price fix appetizer Main course was fine if you can overlook the atmosphere, which is null and void. Staff was not as knowledgeable of the product they were serving as they should be for a Michelin rated restaurant. Very disappointing for Los Angeles top rated restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mtrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Providence also viewed

 

Been to Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing