We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an real "old fashioned" movie going experience for the whole family”
Review of El Capitan Theatre

El Capitan Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Los Angeles from Long Beach and San Pedro
Ranked #5 of 143 Fun & Games in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
LA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It's an real "old fashioned" movie going experience for the whole family”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Love seeing a movie here, it's a beautiful theater and all the ushers are so helpful and attentive. It's like stepping back in time with the live show before the movie! The"soda fountain" cafe, that adjoins the lobby, is a really clever idea as well. Ice cream and sandwiches, as well as licensed products from the Wonderful World of Disney are on sale there. Fun day for parents and kids!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank daycavtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    96
    19
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Theater”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We watched Oz we had reserved premium seating. They have someone playing the organ before the movie starts. Beautiful theater like the ones in NYC.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
184 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Have to go see”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I love this theater. It brings you back in time. The grandeur, the atmosphere. The place is beautiful. You will love the memorabilia on display. The performance we saw was truly memorable, as I am sure they all are. Put it on your list to see.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank D w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit to catch a movie!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This theatre is worth visiting if you're visiting Hollywood. We went to see Oz The Great and Powerful and were treated to a magician show immediately beforehand. It is an old school theatre but used very well as a cinema. They try to show relevant memorabilia in the lobby areas as its Hollywood. For Oz the Great and Powerful, there were props and original costumes from the movie on show which was pretty cool. I'm sure they would do similar for whatever movie was showing. Not particulary cheap to visit mind you. A bit more expensive than UK cinemas but then again, it is Hollywood!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NC
1 review
“What an experience!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We saw Oz, the Great and Powerful last week here, and it was an incredible experience. It was really neat to see the costumes and other memorabilia from the movie in the lobby. The theater was absolutely beautiful. The live organ music only added to the ambiance of this great theater. The light show before the movie was great as well. Please give this place a try!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hcog2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Capitan Theatre also viewed

 

Been to El Capitan Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing