We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We can do a seance on short notice..."”
Review of The Magic Castle

The Magic Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Hollywood Ghost Walk
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Munich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"We can do a seance on short notice..."”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Magic Castle isn't open to everyone—it's a private club—but if you stay at the nearby Magic Castle Hotel, you can gain admission. And it's worth it. You'll be introduced to the arcane world of the professional magician, and what a joyous, but mildly disturbing, world it is. You can never be quite sure when someone's pulling your leg—except, of course, you know they're pulling your leg constantly. The place has a number of theaters, as well as the odd magician or two who mingle with visitors and insert an impromptu trick when they spot an opportunity. Go on the first Monday of the month; the club auditions new members, and the chatter in the bar as everyone waits for their results is worth overhearing. Extraordinary.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalTraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    92
    31
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very special day!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I took my son,daughter in law and two grandchildren ages 9 and 10 for a treat and none of us were disappointed .... an afternoon for all ages and a wonderful day to remember! Everything was perfect from the moment we saw the castle to the moment we left...the brunch was delicious and plentiful and service excellent....we all loved all the magic shows and when my grand daughter was selected to join the magician on the stage it was extra special! If you have an opportunity go....the memory of the castle will not disappear!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank flyaway40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do not miss it if you can go”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It is worth every cent you pay, you can enjoy great magicians, excellent shows in a magic environment. To make it short, leave what you are doing and go!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JonasR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique experience!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

What an unique experience! Definitely think any one who has the opportunity to visit the castle and watch as many magic shows as possible should do! Also a nice opportunity to dress up since it requires a dress code. Magic shows are great! and the castle... well, magic!

Helpful?
1 Thank Juliana_Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An enchanting evening”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I've heard about the Magic Castle, but haven't been to it. It's a hotel and club. I didn't go to the hotel area, but only the club area. Valet parking is $10. I went solo but met up with folks from a meet-up group.

I was lucky enough to go with a member, so it doesn't cost anything to get it (if you go with a member). If you want to get in and don't have a Magic Castle member friend to get you in, you'll have to pay for dinner at their restaurant to be able to get in and let me tell you dinner is expensive. They serve appetizers at the bars if you need, but I already ate before going. If you are a thirsty horse, caution, drinks are expensive. Still water was $4. Oh and Monday nights are best, it's their quiet night, so your bound to get a seat in their many small show rooms.

The dress code is strict, and ladies, yes high heels are possible. I spent 5+ hrs their with killer heels on and I was totally fine, there isn't that much standing and walking on a Monday night. There are lots to see and enjoy at the Magic Castle. I found everything entertaining, go with an open mind and an attitude to be entertained. Don't be a skeptic and you'll enjoy everything all the more!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank travelP2P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Magic Castle also viewed

 

Been to The Magic Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing