We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't knock the location, Hostel not the best tho”
Review of Hostel California

Hostel California
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel California
Leeds, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't knock the location, Hostel not the best tho”
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Stayed in a private room, so felt my belongings were safe, but spent every waking hour out of the hostel because it was a bit of a dive. TV blared all night too. Wouldn't recommend unless you plan on hitting the beach hard.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomZRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    3
    4
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
1
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

This was my first hostel experience and to be honest i could not wait to leave. Travelled with friends, i shared a private room with one of them, the others ended up dragging their mattress into our private room because there room was freezing because the door to the balcony had a gaping hole and one of the mattresses were used to prop the door close.

The private room was thankfully lockable but i did not feel confortable leaving belongings there, It was right next to the bathroom which meant that anytime anyone went to the bathroom we were woken up. The walls had what looked like claw marks etched in there, the bathrooms were 'apparently" cleaned twice daily but we did not feel comfortable using them and the sinks were not cleaned during our stay. The thread bare linen wasn't the cleanest, the pillow case i used had suspicious white stains all over it.

The location was not ideal, a tad too far from the beach and we did not feel safe walking around after dark. As for the atmosphere, there is definately an internation feel to it but it was not the most social hostel (mainly because we did not wish to leave our room).

The only advantage of this place was the free wifi which we used to book other accomodation.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saxonthebach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

It was dirty and the place to keep valuables is a wooden cupboard behind the tv in the living where everyone else is. so they see you put your stuff in there!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treynolds182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

This review is for backpackers - This hostel is not where you want to be. It is dirty and depressing. As the other reviewers mentioned many of the 'guests' are 'residents'. The atmosphere is one of poverty and despair, hardly the stuff that dreams are made of. I wish I has done some more research and not taken the reviews on hostelworld on face value. That said, there are good people in ugly places and many of the guests/residents of Hovel California are good people. Just don't stay here.

  • Liked — Internet access
  • Disliked — The bathrooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pod08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2008

When I came there, I did not like it too much, on the first thought. But then I realized it was not a very bad place! Yes, there is a lot of work to be done concerning its cleanliness, amenities, etc. But on the whole, this place is OK for a quick stay. I can say what things I did not really like - the staff of the hostel have a tendency to stay there on a permanent basis. So, you can't really understand who is the staff member, and who is the guest like you! Then, I did not like that there was an open terrace in front of the entrance, and the guests sit there drinking and talking loud often all night long, but that will do, if you like socializing while others are in bed. The bathrooms are average, the latch in the Ladies' room hurts on your fingers, the sinks are often with traces of other guests' toothpaste and the like. But what is really good is that the bathrooms are rarely occupied all the time. The kitchen exactly appalled me - it's too small for such a huge number of visitors! The fridges are overstuffed with food and drinks, so that you can't understand where your packs are. I also noticed the flying insects in the kitchen furniture. The pool room is big, the TV is loud and always on, till 11 p.m. I understand we all can find fault with any hostel in the world, but this one, in my opinion, is not the worst - it's colourful and a very social place!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Elya_Sumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

I have never stayed in a worse hostel. It was filthy, and full of people who were living there and working in the area. It was literally falling apart, the bathrooms were rotting and full of peoples' personal stuff, the bunkrooms were full of various shift workers sleeping through the day and night. I was on a top bunk, and half the mattress stuck out beyond the bed! If I'd rolled onto that bit, me and the mattress would have fallen to the floor.

I have never been so glad to get out of anywhere. I've stayed in heaps of lovely hostels in Canada (mainly in snow country), but this was disgraceful.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Everything! It was horrible.
  • Stayed December 2003, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ant100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2006

Quite easily the worst hostel I have stayed in in my entire back-packing career.

Dank, dirty, unsafe and full of people who have nowhere else to live instead of travelling backpackers.

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed December 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank al100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Ramada Marina Del Rey
Ramada Marina Del Rey
#8 of 11 in Marina del Rey
500 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,392 reviews
Venice
Jolly Roger Hotel
Jolly Roger Hotel
#10 of 11 in Marina del Rey
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
538 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 350 in Los Angeles
774 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel California

Property: Hostel California
Address: 2221 Lincoln Blvd, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing