We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely awesome evening!”

Catalina Bar & Grill
Ranked #2,159 of 9,895 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Hollywood
los angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely awesome evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Just visited the world famous Catalina Bar & Grill on March 25, 2012 to see a wonderful singer, Rachelle Ferrell and also to enjoy the always warm and inviting ambiance of Catalina's. Their attentive wait staff and friendly atmosphere makes for a delightful experience every time. The food and drinks were delicious and the music was the "icing on the cake". Visit as soon as you can!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, AZ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing jazz!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

I went in January to hear the Roy Hargrove Quintet perform. The atmosphere was perfect for sitting back, enjoying a couple of beers, and hearing one of the world's great jazz artists play.

I didn't order any food, but the prices looked kind of steep - maybe that's normal for LA though. My beers were expensive too though - $25 for three Budweisers... yikes! The service was very good. Anyway, it was worth it plus the $30 ticket to hear Roy Hargrove play. But then again I support any venue that has live jazz.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Nightclub Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We went last night to hear Barbara Morrison, our favorite jazz performer. I was a little apprehensive after reading some reviews that panned the food and ambience of the venue. However we were very pleasantly surprised. The food and drinks were top quality, as was the service. The club neat, clean and is far from dingy; the attached parking garage is an asset in hard-to-park Hollywood. Yes, the food is pricey (that's where it loses the fifth star), but this is a club; I would expect higher prices, so long as the quality is there. Plus, if you have dinner, you can get a table right up close to the stage and feel like you are part of the performance.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rocketscientist_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good place to hear Jazz...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2008

Good place to hear Jazz. The food is forgetable, but the music is not.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Catalina Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing