We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just misses but is very good”

Roy's - Woodland Hills
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's - Woodland Hills is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #440 of 9,980 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: South San Fernando Valley
Cross street: Victory Blvd.
Transit: Topanga Canyon Blvd./Victory Blvd.
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Just misses but is very good”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Friday night and 4 of us went to Roy's - If you approach from the north on Topanga you must turn at the light after the restaurant and enter parking lot - confusing - Self park please - $7.00 Valet is really expensive. entrance is great and you are well greeted.

Our expectations were high and it just misses. The salad wedge was great and well presented and generous. The Lobster California Roll starter was also very good and well prersented. I ordered the $31 fish and chips and it was really good but Holly Cow $30 ? My wife had the Butter fish and it was great also. Tables are wide and spread nicely apart, service was crisp and sharp. The Chocolate souffle was really well presented and nice dessert to share.
Just expensive and does not distingush itself.. Just not sure we are going back as it was $100 without drinks and tip - so food is good but pricey

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    29
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food; great service”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been here many times and are always treated like VIPs. Excellent service and ambience. The food is usually excellent and, if it isn't, they will accommodate you. Portions are a bit small compared to today's gluttonous standards but more than adequate. The chocolate lava cake might be the best dessert around (a little extra raspberry puree may be in order, however). The sushi is sometimes inconsistent but the sauces are their specialty. Happy hour is a great bargain.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money at Roy's in Woodland Hills”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Last night was the worst meal I have had in 3 years...yeah the last time I had a meal this bad was also at Roy's in Warner Center. The service was terrible...it took 35 minutes to get our salads and appetizers. Roy's Trio at $36 was small and had poor flavors and 2 of the 3 fishes were over cooked. The risotto tasked like wall paper paste and the salmon had a unsavory taste and aroma. Had I known before my meal that the salmon was farm raised I would not have had the trio.

Having eaten at Roy's many many times in many different locations since they first opened on Maui about 20 years ago I am so disappointed that the Warner Center location is so bad. Personally knowing Roy Yamaguchi I am so disappointed on how far the owners "The Bloomin Group" have allowed their food and service to drift away from what Roy originally created. I was hoping that after 3 years they would have gotten things back on track...regrettably last nights meal was even worse than what I had 3 years ago. Don't waste your time and money at this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerrykritzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie L, Guest Relations Manager at Roy's - Woodland Hills, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Aloha!

We are pleased that you have enjoyed Roy's for the last 20 years and are sorry to hear we fell below expectations when you visited 3 years ago, and again on your recent visit.

Our management team, takes feedback seriously and appreciates your honesty and comments. There is nothing more that Chef wants than to ensure his guests leave happy. Do you have time for a quick conversation with our Managing Partner who is eager to talk to you about your visit? How can we connect with you? My email is jlee@roysrestaurant.com.

Mahalo for sharing your insight and please know that your comments will be shared with our entire team. I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Celebration of a 90th birthday!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was a celebration for my mom's 90th birthday so I had called ahead when making reservations to let them know and to ask about finding a table that was not in the middle as it can be difficult for mom to understand conversation in noisy places. We were greeted promptly and seated at our designated time with the manager coming over to meet mom personally. They had selected a table in the smaller of the two rooms, in the corner so it was optimal for her to enjoy her special night with special surprise guests that came in for her day. Chris, our server was attentive. The food selection wonderful with something for everyone and the service great. Definitely save room for the Chocolate Souffle!! Valet parking available though if you don't mind the walk there is plenty in the garage behind the restaurant. They have a nice wine selection though we brought in our own and they were happy to serve.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovinlife57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
480 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“"Great Service"”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our first visit to this Roy's, although we have been to many locations in Hawaii and the Mainland and we were not disappointed. The service was excellent and the menu selections were spot on. We always start with the Spicey Rib Appetizer which was enough to share. The Moon Fish and Shrimp entrees were delicious. We finished our meal with a Chocalate Souffle with Vanilla ice cream which was decadent. The manager stopped by several times to check on our progress which was appreciated. The only negative was the noise level this particular evening. When the restaurant is full it is quite loud. Valet parking and sel-park are available.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's - Woodland Hills also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Roy's - Woodland Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing