We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tacky and wet carpet” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hollywood Inn Express North
Ranked #238 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tacky and wet carpet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were looking for clean, basic, budget accommodation that was reasonably close to the Walk of Fame. We were disappointed with this hotel. The staff wasn't friendly; the decor is dated and ridiculously tacky. This we can deal with but the worst part was that there was a massive wet patch in the carpet that would not go away. There must have been a leak under the floor and it made the whole room stink like wet carpet. Even for basic accommodation, this place was not great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadamMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    45
    23
    46
See reviews for
37
32
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

we stayed here for a few nights in September 2013. I can definitely say we got what we paid for. The rooms were quite dingy and dark but huge and the beds were very comfy. The pool was closed for our entire visit which was quite annoying as the temperature was around 35C every day and we wanted to cool off.
Our room had Whitney Houston painted on the wall which was a nice touch.
The staff were helpful but did not seem very friendly.
However if you are looking for a relatively inexpensive place to stay in Los Angeles which has good transport links to the rest of the city I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickylh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valasske Mezirici, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

FIRST! Dont expect its some kind of hollywood top star hotel. Its a small and decent place to sleep near hollywood. Location is pretty good, surrounded by a lot of restourants and if you like to walk its like 30 minutes to Hollywood starts. Behind hotel is good free parking , wifi works well , and rooms are spacy and clean. Dont expect much but for modest travelers with small budgets this will be heaven. Only problem was that pool doesnt work.

Room Tip: Rooms with view to the Hollywood boulevard is quiet noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stanislavholis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

First time on a motel and it was better than I thought. Clean bathroom!
The staff were superfriendly!! I recommend this motel if u wanna stay for a few days, it was cheap. We had the Humphrey Bogart room! The only thing that were disturbing was the plastic in the bed.. But comfy

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
253 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is a motel for the budget traveler. It's got a safe environment, a clean pool, large rooms and fairly new bathrooms. I paid about $85 after taxes for a room with 2 queen beds. There was a mural of Lucielle Ball on the wall, so it had a neat kitsch factor. There was a mini fridge and cups. The towels were clean but the bedding had a few stains. There were no tissues, so I had to use toilette paper to blow my nose. They provide soap and shampoo, but no lotion. The room was as quiet as to be expected for a motel. The fan in the aircon worked well to help white noise street traffic.

The staff were friendly and accomodating. I made a reservation for Saturday night. At the last minute, my plans changed and I needed the room for Friday as well. I called and was told no problem, they had a room and even though they didn't take a name or my booking number, it was there waiting for me when I checked in around 11pm. I wound up not needing Saturday, and was easily able to cancel that portion of my stay, as long as I checked out by 11am.

I was given a code for free wifi but was not told what the hours were for breakfast, so I missed that. Check out was a breeze.

In all, I would have no issue staying here again. It was only about a 5 block walk to the Metro station with easy access to North Hollywood Metro for getting to Bob Hope Airport in Burbank. There are a lot of great Thai restaurants for your dining pleasure.

Room Tip: I felt like the floor might have made noise for the room below, so I would want a room on the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

So after reading reviews on this place I knew it wasn't going to be the best but I did not expect a dark and dingy room that stank of pee!!! I could have got over the dreadful decor but the smell was overwhelming! I didn't sleep in the sheets and I put a chair under the door as I didn't feel safe and to top it off I woke up to a cockroach in the bathroom! I was meant to stay 2 nights but ended up paying to stay in a different hotel for the 2nd night as there was no way I could have stayed there again! The guy on reception seemed friendly but wasn't didn't really seem interested in helping me out with organising to go places. I thought I was getting a good deal as this place is cheap but never again will I fall for that one! I recommend paying that little bit extra to stay somewhere safer, cleaner and in a better location. Never again will I stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Gold Coast
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with this place, it was very clean and the rooms were massive. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The guy at the front counter was so helpful, he even let us leave out surfboard in storage. Breakfast was basic but free, also free wifi. The neighbour was safe to walk around and shops were close by. Will be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Coconut_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#130 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#112 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#66 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Hollywood
Economy Inn Hollywood
Economy Inn Hollywood
#187 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#172 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Inn Express North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Inn Express North

Property: Hollywood Inn Express North
Address: 5131 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Inn Express North 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find the best rates online, the widest variety of room types online, at the most reliable Hollywood Boulevard Hotel. We offer our guest affordable room rates with luxury & friendly services. Hollywood Inn Express North is a motel that will ensure your family a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are visiting this dynamic city. We offer plenty of room options and features especially designed to serve families traveling together. We welcome you to our Hollywood motel, and hope you enjoy your stay. Unlike any other Hollywood Motels near Universal Studios Hollywood we offer discount tickets and tour arrangements to Universal Studios. Whether you're traveling on business, a leisure getaway, or a family vacation, this Hollywood Motel in Hollywood has the right motel accommodations for you. Take advantage of free internet access, and comfortable beds offered at Hollywood Inn Express North. You'll find the best rates online, the widest variety of room online, the most reliable motel near Universal Studios Thank you for considering Hollywood Inn Express North for your motel travel plans! All of our beautifully furnished Deluxe guestrooms equipped are with free Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerators, Iron/board, Hair Dryer, Radio clock and free complimentary breakfast. Motel located on Hollywood Boulevard 5 minutes to Hollywood Walk of Fame, 5 minutes to Sunset Blvd, walking distance 10 minutes to Hollywood Universal Studios and Discount Tickets available at the Lobby, 15 minutes to Hollywood Sign and Griffith Observatory Discount Universal Studio Tickets and Tour scheduling We are conveniently located in the heart of Hollywood! Treat yourself to the Hollywood Inn Express North Los Angeles. Choose this Hollywood motel for your travel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hollywood Inn Express North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Inn Express North Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Hotel Express North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing