We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for the price, very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Los Angeles / Hollywood
Ranked #181 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for the price, very good location”
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Pros: Good staff and very good location, near downtown (3 min) and Hollywood (2 min). Rooms have fridge, desk, free WIFI and free parking.
Cons: little room, would need a renovation, noisy road near. Just ok for the night, but don't spend much time here, better go outside. no pool.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudeneverstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    54
    51
    20
    12
See reviews for
28
73
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
marolles en brie
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2009

I stayed there for 2 weeks and a half on august 2k8 :) i choosed this hotel because of the proximity of downtown. Bus stop at 1meter bus #200 to the metro station around 20min to get there - 200 meters or so to the bus # 704 to santa monica (1h30 to santa monica drive thru beverly hills its cool to see all that places from the bus and meet ppl.

The staff is awesome!!! Very helpful, smart... smile a lot, always here to hear or reply to ur question, find solution or help for ur day trip :).

actually I miss Carmen & the second floor's housekeeper Erica :) but all the staff is cool :)

the room are big sizes, very clean, the housekeeper always make sure u miss nothing at ur room... if the hotel isnt full they'll show u differents room and let u choose.

Wireless work perfectly, the fridge & the microhoover are there no worries lol the tv works well too lol

at 200 meters from the hotel, starbucks, shops for food, lavatory... 2 types of buses.

if I have (and im sure I will) to come back to LA u can be sure I’ll go there… you really feel like home… and that was important to me!

A bit noisy at nite, but hey? If u want a calm place… go to UTAH lol (or stay home ;))

this place was cool cause i felt for something like 3 weeks americans :) if i had a car there...i would had the' cahnce to see all the things i saw, met the ppl i met...

  • Liked — The fact that whaever u need or happen you n ever feel alone with this staff... never lost :)
  • Disliked — Breakfast... lol im a breakfast lover... and its pretty light there, but its okay :)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginie_7791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We were in L.A. for a conference near Echo Park, and this motel was recommended. We were very happy with it. It doesn't pretend to be a four-star place, but it's clean, comfortable, and inexpensive. The bed was great, the shower (no tub) was clean, there was a mini-fridge in the room. Some street noise from Alvarado, but not awful. Security seemed good. Convenient to 101 freeway & Sunset Blvd., close to downtown.

On the down side--rooms are fairly small (though not terribly so); no iron or ironing board (though they might provide if needed); no coffee-maker.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Was worried about the area...not the greatest but it was perfectly safe (two girls staying!)
Close to practically everything in Hollywood...and was a nice starting point to a bunch of other locations. Would definately stay again.
The Hotel was clean and nice enough...small rooms.
Management was polite and nice.

  • Liked — Close to many attractions and Price
  • Disliked — everything was satisfactory
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamitrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

The road the hotel is situated on not too pretty but the motel is fine, the rooms are clean, of a satisfactory size and the staff are helpful and the chambermaid does a excellent job on keeping the rooms clean.

for those without a car, there are a couple of bus services nearby which can take you downtown (and subway to hollywood boulevard)or out to santa monica and beaches and a good selection of restaurants are not too far away.

the area is near echo park which is a very safe area.

the road outside is a bit noisy but there the room does have double glazing.

free coffee, tea OJ and danish up to 10:30. Office has penty of leaflets for organised trips and maps etc.

no frills, but overall a well run motel

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — the busy road outside
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fsweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 10, 2005

I stayed at this Americas Best Value inn for 3 nights. It lies on Sunset Boulevard, which can be a very busy road. The hotel was very noisy due to the noise from the street, I couldn't sleep very well. But besides that the hotel is decent. The rooms are not very large, but they are clean. The bathroom was very clean as well. The television worked fine.

Everyday, two new free bottles of water were put on my desk by the cleaning ladies, which was a nice welcome present for hot LA. However do bring your own shampoo, it is not provided by the hotel as I expected. The cleaners don't speak English, but the people behind the desk do and are very friendly.

There is no internet in this hotel, but they when you ask they will refer you to the nearby Motel 8 hotel, where you can use internet at $1 per 10 minutes, which I found pretty expensive. However if you have a laptop with you, you might want to try and find a wireless network.

In the morning you can take a free breakfast, which consists of not too good coffee and a biscuit. This is nice to overcome the time to go out and find a good breakfast place in the neighbourhood (which I never really found). There is a restaurant next to the hotel, it is maybe even part of the hotel, that wasn't very clear. However, I entered this place once, and never went back, it didn't look very clean.

There is a bus stop nearby the hotel and this was very convenient, bus n2 runs to beverly hills. Hollywood and the walk of fame are only 10 minutes walk away from the hotel. The metro station Hollywood/western is 5 minutes walking from the hotel.

The neighbourhood didn't look very safe at first sight, it is a more poverish part of sunset boulevard. I was travelling alone and I am a 26y woman, but I never had any problems and never felt unsafe, but I never came back to my hotel later than 9pm, so I can't really tell how it would be later in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2005

I traveled to LA for a business trip in June. I stayed at this Americas Best Value Inn for 4 nights. The room was clean and the staff was courteous. There were no frills - no tub, only a shower; had to get the TV remote from the front desk; there was no High Speed Internet Access.

The parking lot was well lit and I felt safe at this hotel. The management was very helpful - recommending restaurants, driving tours, etc.

I recommend this hotel for a value minded traveler. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TnTravel-CEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
0.9 mi away
Knights Inn Los Angeles Central/Convention Center Area
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West Sunset Blvd.
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Metro Plaza Hotel
Metro Plaza Hotel
#136 of 351 in Los Angeles
363 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#170 of 351 in Los Angeles
361 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
#173 of 351 in Los Angeles
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Los Angeles / Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Los Angeles / Hollywood

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Los Angeles / Hollywood
Address: 811 N Alvarado St, Los Angeles, CA 90026-3102
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Los Angeles / Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Los Angeles / Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Los Angeles / Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Americas Best Value Inn Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing