We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is awfull, worst staff service ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Inn Express South
Ranked #261 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
1 review
“This place is awfull, worst staff service ever!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

When we arrived to check in we were rudely told by the clerk that we would have to take a seat and wait because he was closing out his shift and there was no power in the motel. We asked to cancel our reservation and were told that the couldn't even confirm we had one let alone cancel it. I called hotels.com, they tried to cancel it and they were told that we had to call the manager in the morning. We called today and the manager refused to refund our money for an uninhabital room. Its his discretion and he chose to have the worst attitude and customer service I have ever experienced!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappytraverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    41
    99
    45
    94
See reviews for
82
68
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

hi was at the hollywood inn expsouth for only one night but got a big room with a king bed and lots of space thte rooms are really great its an average just basic hotel or motel but location is a bit far from attractions in ex hollywood but nearer ex downtown los angheles if you re going there near freeway 101 and not to farr from thing to do in la if you want to great fr johnny b .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swedenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

When we booked this Hotel on Hotwire, the only things we were told was the area of town it was in, the amenities, such as pool and free breakfast, and that it was a two-star hotel. I decided to take a chance as it was close to Universal Studios, where we were going while in town, and booked it. Once I booked it I got the name of the place and checked it out here on TA and immediately regretted the booking. We decided we had already paid for it and it was only for two nights so we would go ahead and stay there. Never again.

It didn't look so bad at first, but the pool was neither heated, or even available. It was inside a locked fence in the parking lot so we didn't get to use it. The rooms didn't have coffee pots and we discovered when we checked out that there was a microwave, but it was outside the room, in a closet in the walkway, apparently for all to share. Very weird. The ice machine was in a different building across the parking lot and was coin operated.

Once we got in our room and used the restroom is when we started noticing the bad shape the room was in. TP roll holder was missing from wall, so the roll was placed on the toilet tank. Holes in walls and door jambs made me wonder if mice would come join us at night. I don't know if they did or not, but we did hear all the parking lot noise all night.

The next morning we went down for breakfast and got there early as I had read reviews that the paltry donuts served go fast, and therefore was not surprised to find only one box of donuts and a container of corn flakes as breakfast options. We just left and went about our day, not in a hurry to return, but we had one more night. When we did return that night & my son took a shower, the tub faucet shot off the wall and hit him in the leg. I was able to reattach it to the pipe, but the next morning as the rest of us were trying to get showered and ready to go, it shot off again. When I checked out I gave it to the man at the front desk. He was apologetic and offered to let us use the shower in another room, but by that time we were packed and ready to get out of there.

I am ex-military and can sleep anywhere. This reminds me of places I have stayed in other countries. Fine for a guys trip maybe if you are just looking for a place to crash, but not a place to take your wife and kids. As a result of my review, and others I am sure, Hotwire has dropped this place from a two-star to a one-star place. Much more fitting.

Room Tip: Stay in a different part of town. We didn't even see anything nice in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingDad_PTFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Foster City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I've stayed at many 2 star hotels and this is my worse experience. I've read some of the negative reviews about this place and they were right.

Checking in: the clerk looked up my profile and had the confused look as if they didn't have a room for me when I booked 4 months prior. Then they spoke their native language as if something was wrong (rude) and started laughing about it. Never have I had to answer so many questions to check-in at a hotel ("Who did you book through?" "When did you book the place?"). Then they mentioned that I can't get a refund at this hotel and this was after they claim to found my room. The clerk/owner asked if I wanted save 10% by paying with cash. At that moment, I had a feeling that something isn't with these guys. Instead, I paid by credit to be on the safe side.

The Room: Upon entering, the room does not match the photos they posted. I noticed there were no hangers, just a rusted bar. The carpet is dark - near black with heavy stains everywhere; can't tell what color it used to be! No alarm clock, iron, ironboard, bedside lamps, and not even the usual bible in every hotel drawers! Look out the window and I saw pieces of junk dumped on the sidewalk (As if they were never picked up for decades).

Bathroom: Mold spots can be seen on the ceiling and the shower head was dirty - looked as old as the hotel (50s, 60s?).

It was late and i was tired, and thought I could hold out till morning but had to check out and find another hotel to stay at. Upon checking out of the hotel, the clerk wouldn't let me check-out; even though my credit card company said that I'm supposed to fill out a form. Either way, my credit card company said they will help me get my refund from these guys.

The room looks more appropriate for someone making business with a prostitute or set up a drug cartel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 217.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I would not stay at this hotel again. The amenities were clean and comfortable but the hotel needed to be refurbished and the area where it was was awful. There were no restaurants nearby and the litter on the pavements was really bad. In fact we were due to stay one more night when we got back to Los Angeles but we booked another night in Palm Springs and drove to the airport from there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaydeeReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayward ca
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

we stayed at the hollywood inn express south for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. the staff were great and and very helpful. the room was large as well as functional. the morning breakfast was good and included coffee, juice, cereal and pastries. this motel is great value for the money it costs to stay there. the location is great. we will definitely stay at this motel when we next visit l.a.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budeckert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I came from Philly to LA to run the marathon this past weekend so it was important to stay somewhere inexpensive that could guarantee a stress-free and restful couple of nights prior to the race. This place did the job. Be forewarned, you will get the bare minimum here (like no bedside lamps!). Everything is outdated, the WiFi is temperamental, and you will be hard pressed to get a smile from the staff. However, none of those factors made the stay here bad. At the end of the day I had a clean, comfortable bed and a spot-on 4 AM wake up call. For under $70/night what more could I have asked for?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
#174 of 351 in Los Angeles
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#109 of 351 in Los Angeles
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Inn Express South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Inn Express South

Property: Hollywood Inn Express South
Address: 141 N Alvarado St, Los Angeles, CA 90026-5302
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Inn Express South 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Los Angeles motel is near all the attractions and activities that make this place such a fun destination. We are minutes away from Hollywood famous attractions, Hollywood Walk of Fame, Hollywood Bowl, Pantages Theatre, Hollywood Sign and more. Hollywood Inn Express South is located one mile within downtown Los Angeles & Los Angeles Convention Center, This Downtown Los Angeles motel is the perfect family-friendly place for your Los Angeles vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hollywood Inn Express South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Inn Express South Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Hotel Express South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing