We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Los Angeles
Post
Inbox
Search

“Tantalizing Take-out”

Maria's Italian Kitchen
Order Online
Ranked #760 of 12,466 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Westside
Description: TO GET THE MOST AUTHENTIC ITALIAN FOOD, YOU NEED AUTHENTIC INGREDIENTS Maria’s Italian Kitchens is one of those grand American success stories. Maria’s Italian Kitchens often remind guests of the casual, sometimes boisterous, neighborhood eateries of another era. It began in the Italian quarter of Hoboken, New Jersey, where Madelyn’s mother, Maria, grew up learning the recipes for real Italian food of Naples from her mother, Luisa. This home-grown education in the fundamentals of Napolitano sauces, soups, dressings, ravioli, lasagna and other regional fare was put to delicious use in 1968 when the Alfano’s and their five young children moved to Los Angeles and bought a tiny grocery store called the “Village Mart” in L.A.’s prestigious Brentwood Village located at Barrington Street and Sunset Blvd. and converted the one car garage into the first Maria’s Italian Kitchen in 1975. She must have learned her lessons well because that first Maria’s Italian Kitchen was a huge success.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

I had take-out which was quick and accurate served by a very friendly and accommodating manager. The dishes were delicious as always (Chicken Picatta, Chicken & Broccoli Fusilli, Gnocchi, grilled broccoli (a great replacement for the no longer offered Broccoli Lemone), and several servings of Maria's delicious rosemary bread! Wish they still had Broccoli Lemone and Chicken Santa Rosa. Be sure to use their app for a free appetizer for loading the app and to earn free dishes in the future.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anitan434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 43 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2018

We shared the chicken Parmesan Panini and it was more than enough for two persons. We also had the Italian fries with parsley and Parmesan and they were delicious. Everything was reasonably priced. The restaurant is quite spacious so everybody is not on top of each other. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive but we were at the restaurant in the middle of the afternoon. You can get three hours free parking across the street at the Westside shopping center. Alll in all, a very good dining experience.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank vincemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelyn A, Owner at Maria's Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2018

Thank you Vince for sharing your experience at Maria's, as serving fresh and delicious food is very important to us. We strive to be your neighborhood Italian restaurant and we're happy to read about your visit. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon and thank you for your parking recommendation! Grazie, Maddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Great spot when heading to movies at Westside Pavillion. With the change at mall not many places to get and in out for movies.

Great value, huge portions even for the half size and lots of choices. Fresh good, not haute cuisine but tasty.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 450juditha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelyn A, Owner at Maria's Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Judith, we are so pleased of such a positive review! It's wonderful to hear that everything was tasty and yes, we are an easy walk across the street to the movies. Looking forward to your next visit! Grazie, Maddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

I had a cesar salad with breast of chicken. Delicious. The server was attentive and helpful to our party of 3.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank EvJer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018

We visited here at lunch time. Good Italian food and atmosphere.
Staff was really nice and friendly.
Also our teenagers like this place!

Good good good, Grazie!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peekay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelyn A, Owner at Maria's Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

We appreciate you stopping in for lunch, and we're glad to provide you with delicious Italian food! We are excited to welcome you back soon. Grazie, Maddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Maria's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing