We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good honest diner food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jan's Restaurant

Jan's Restaurant
Ranked #5,290 of 9,515 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good honest diner food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We ate twice there for breakfast in late July. First day pancake stack with fried bananas and the second time Belgium waffles with strawberries. Both times with their delicious freshly squeezed orange juice. Good service and good food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mazla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cosy and quaint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first experience of a diner in America, and it proved to be a nice welcoming experience. If you want grilled cheese, burgers and a greasy fry up or a traditional club sandwich this is the place for you.

The thing that made it so memorable was the staff, as they were so friendly and attentive but in a non obtrusive way. The diner has dated furnishing which most people may find uncool, but we think it gave it charm and preserves the real diner experience over tacky manufactured diners like johnny rockets.

I reccomended a chocolate milkshake!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cariaddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Towed my car illegally from the customer parking lot beware!
We were having dinner at the restaurant, to come back find out that our car was towed away!
Filed charges at the court!

P.s.: food was barely eatable on top of everything

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ghalya13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
345 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Skip this diner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

No way this has the "best coffee in Los Angeles". Mediocre food at best. Went for breakfast and it was just across from the Elan Hotel. Would have been better off with the hotel's continental breakfast.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great menu, fresh food, clean premises and pleasant staff. You can have a snack or huge main meal. Delicious food!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gorros3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jan's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing