We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orange Drive Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
1 review
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2008

Reading the previous review left me a little hesitant about the place - they were wrong! The location is great. The hostel is on a residential street between the historic Roosevelt Hotel and The Magic Castle. Very quiet at night. The beds were clean and the showers were fine - not moldy (the grout is old but NOT moldy) as previously stated. There are a number of restrooms/showers to choose from. The building has been there since the 1920's so please don't expect bathroom facilities like a Hilton.

The staff is fabulous! They are friendly and helpful. I inquired about the bedbugs and while they did not deny that they have HAD them - they did explain the situation. Bedbugs were brought to the manor by other guests travelling FROM a hostel in SF. Requesting a private room will lessen the chances of being exposed to bedbugs as this is typically a problem in the dorm rooms used for single travelers. The matress, box spring, and the pillow are all wrapped in plastic - a bit uncomfortable but worth the precaution. Our room had double French doors and a large window with 2 twin beds. The room is sparce but hopefully you're not in LA to spend most of your time in a room. There is no A/C but the nights are cool.

This is really a great place to stay. They have parking for $5 a day. Bring your own towels. I WILL stay here again.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — 10 am check-out, the pillow
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReadSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    132
    46
    15
    20
See reviews for
25
109
77
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tahoe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2008

Absolutely horrible - full of bedbugs! Staff nasty and unaccomodating. Bathrooms moldy and smelly. Beds not clean either. We moved out and they would not refund any money.
DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — only the location
  • Disliked — the bedbugs and staff
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSourceTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2008

The location of the Orange Drive in the centre of Hollywood is great. It is easy to get from here to Downtown, the beach & LAX via the Metro and on buses to West Hollywood, etc.

My double room was clean and bright, and wifi was accessible from in the room (though this was my only hostel accomodation in the US that charged for the privelege). The public areas of the building were quite dark and some smelled quite strange. The shared bathrooms were dingy and the showers were in poor condition.

In all, this is a great location, and is quite good value (I probably would stay here again). But new showerheads would be a nice start!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The bathrooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisby79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2007

number one: the location is great if you're a first time LA tourist like i was. around the corner from the hollywood walk of fame etc... and therefore the myriad of tours on offer.

two: the hostel was clean and the twin room with shared bathrooms i stayed in was excellent - clean and tidy and tastefully - if sparsely
- decorated. plus it was comfortable.

three: the place is mansion-like and exploring it is pretty fun.

the downside was the shared toilet facilities which were breaking down constantly while i was there. the facilities were clean at least.
the shower rooms were frustrating due to the lack of something simple like some hooks to put your things on while you're in the shower.

the hostel has some weird rules around use of credit cards - as in they add a hefty credit card fee, so make sure you have cash. also while i was there one of the front of house/desk people was fairly unhelpful (not to mention abrubt when you asked a question) but the person who was working the day shift was amazingly helpful.

  • Liked — location and the fact it was a cute mansion
  • Disliked — the shared bathroom facilities
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank homeperm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon, england
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2007

Great hostel in a fab location for Hollywood. Our room was spacious and clean. There is a small communial area and kitchen which is nice for socialising. The staff were all freindly and helpful. If i came back to Hollywood I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Great location, right next to the hollywood walk of fame. Its also close to the metro to get other locations around LA
  • Disliked — Check out is quite early- 10am
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sasha120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2007

I stayed here with my husband and we thought this was a great hostel. It was great value and you couldn't beat the location behind the kodak theatre.

I consider myself quite fussy but I was pleased with the hostel. We booked 1 night but stayed for 3. We had to move rooms, and the staff showed us a choice of 3 - which were all nice. Wood floors, light airy rooms. (we had a private which shared bathroom - which was clean).

Would definatly staff again, don't be put off by the other reviews, you won't get better value for money.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — I thought it looked haunted (but we never saw any ghosts) It was just my imagination (but it did smell old).
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristol-Noodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2007

I stayed here with my boyfriend for the first 2 nights of our 3 week trip to the West Coast of America. This was the worst hostel we have ever stayed in. We picked it because of the location which is the only thing going for the place. Its a dingy, dark old house which we didn't feel safe in but the worst thing about it was the uncleanliness. The rooms were dusty, bathrooms moudy and I got bitten all over by bed bugs and spent the rest of the holiday on antihistamine tablets and unable to sleep with the itching. Don't stay here!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The bed bugs
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bubba20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#16 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,366 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 82 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Drive Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Drive Hostel

Property: Orange Drive Hostel
Address: 1764 North Orange Drive, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Orange Drive Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orange Drive Hostel has the absolute best location in Hollywood! Orange Drive Hostel is centrally located in the heart of Hollywood. We are walking distance from some of the most famous sites in Los Angeles, such as the world famous Chinese Theater, the Hollywood Walk of Fame, the Dolby Theater- Home of the Oscars, the Hollywood Bowl, Sunset Blvd, Jimmy Kimmel Live Studio, Disney's El Capitan Theatre, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, views of the Hollywood sign, Runyon Canyon-a favorite hiking trail of celebrities, with fantastic views of the city and the Hollywood Sign. We are also just steps from public transportation, the best night life, shopping and restaurants in Hollywood. We are also located a short drive or bus/metro stop away from Universal Studios,Paramount Studios, Warner Brothers Studios, West Hollywood, and Beverly Hills! We are the perfect location for movie Premieres, star Dedications and major Hollywood events! We offer a variety of room types, including dorm rooms, private rooms, and group rooms. Amenities Include: Free daily breakfast of all-you-can-make waffles, pancakes, oatmeal, coffee, assorted teas and hot chocolate. Free WiFi, Free Lockers, Free day storage of luggage before check-in and after check-out, Parking available (limited parking, parking is first come, first served. Sorry, we cannot accommodate over-sized vehicles. ATM, Laundry facilities, Fully equipped guest kitchen Common room w/HD flat screen TV (no TV's in rooms), Discount Supershuttle, Primetime Shuttle service to/from airport, Universal Studios tickets for sale, Discounted pub crawl with LA Epic Club Crawl. Some History about Orange Drive Hostel: Orange Drive Hostel was originally a manor home built in 1910. It later became a boarding house for the stars of Hollywood's Golden Age, including Marilyn Monroe, Gary Cooper, Rita Hayworth, Kim Novak, Douglas Fairbanks Jr, Johnny Weismuller 'Tarzan, and' and many more. Orange Drive Hostel is a historic home filled with Hollywood history, and staying with us offers a unique opportunity to experience the Golden Age of Hollywood. Open 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Rooms are not guaranteed ready until 3:00 PM Additional key deposit is required and is refundable upon checkout. Please contact hostel if travelling with children or more than two guests/extra charges may apply. Methods of payment accepted: Visa, AMEX, MasterCard, travelers checks, and cash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Orange Drive Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Drive Manor Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing