We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding value”
Review of Yxta

Yxta
Reserve with OpenTable
Yxta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #451 of 9,944 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 6th St.
Canada, Kentucky
Level Contributor
305 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Outstanding value”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

On Monday nights, their Happy Hour runs until 9 pm. Great Margaritas and tacos are available at bargain prices.

We had an excellent meal that was easy on the budget. Would recommend this place highly!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Human44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in LA !!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I had dinner in Yxta Cocina Mexicana last Monday.
What a nice experience !!
OK, It is located in a rather dodgy area........BUT ! this place is great! It is a sort of upscale Mexican restaurant.
We were welcomed by a very friendly lady, and our waiter was as helpful as one can be, and spent a long time explaining to us what exactly was in each dish !
We were served in less than 10 minutes.
I had the pork and pineapple tacos with lemon flavored rice. What a delight! My boyfriend had a tasty chicken tacos.
On Mondays Happy Hour goes until 9pm so we enjoyed a Margharita for 5£.
The outside terrace is nicely decorated, the atmosphere was friendly and lively.
We had a great evening in Yxta!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie78100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Out of the way fantastic!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I don't really like Mexican food but I would go through the skid row section of downtown to get here and have, three different times! The food and service are that good, I'd say great. The dishes have a richness and flavor to them that are unique. I don't like flan either but Yxta is the only place I'll have it. It has a slightly burnt caramel flavor and when eaten with the strawberry that accompanies it, you get an entirely new dimension of flavor. The food is truly excellent and the service has always been friendly and efficient. The location is sketchy and in an industrial, desolate part of downtown but Yxta does have its own parking lot in front of the restaurant. It's a hidden gem and worth the effort. It's closed on Sunday and is not a late night bar scene either. Just a great place to have dinner and an early drink.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacaville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place rocks”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I was in LA last weekend with a group of friends for a golf weekend. The guys wanted to eat Mexican food, but it was already 9:00 pm on. Thursday night. We were staying at a hotel in Commerce, which is a pretty industrial area of LA. Well, we had found this place, I called and they said that they'd definitely be open. I put the address in my gps, and I saw that it was what I had thought was a pretty sketchy area of downtown LA. As we were driving, my friends were giving me some crap, especially as the back of our van was loaded with golf clubs. Well, as soon as we got there, we could tell it was clean, well lit, hip, looked like they had a great clientele and the ambiance looked super fun,
Our server was one of the best I've ever dealt with. Funny, attentive, informative, the guy was great. It was not cheap, but maybe the best restaurant I've been to in quite a while, in fact it was the best restaurant that we went to during our 5 days in So Cal. OUTSTANDING!!!! Everything from the fresh guacamole, mahi mahi, chile relleno, free range chicken, cream of squash soup, and especially my blood orange margarita. I have already told everyone I know in LA that they have to go and eat here. Would be great with a group, or on a date

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dipskp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mexican food turned up a notch!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Celebrated a birthday, I had Chicken Enchiladas in Mole, and calabacitas, and an
"new fashion cocktail" (like an old fashion, but with Mezcal). We all had different meals,
Salmon enchiladas in spicy sauce, Shrimp Enchiladas (in yellow mole sauce)and carnitas, we
all found our meals, exceptional! Dessert was Oaxacan chocolate ice cream (fabulous!)
Can't wait to return, noise a bit high, but can still carry on a conversation. It's a bit hard to find,
in a strip mall off 6th & Central, not far from the art district.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucysadie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yxta also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Yxta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing