We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis”
Review of Yxta

Yxta
Reserve with OpenTable
Yxta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #554 of 10,036 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 6th St.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This place is fine to visit during the day, but be careful if you're walking from the main part of downtown to this restaurant, particularly at night as we did. It's not too many blocks from 6th and Spring Streets in the historic area to where this restaurant is located, but my husband and I learned the hard way that walking through Skid Row in the evening is best avoided, even if it seems like a short enough walk (we took a cab back).

But that said, the food was amazing. We particularly liked the chips and salsas, the Oaxacan cheese empanadas, and the pineapple/jalapeno and blood orange margaritas, and enjoyed sitting outside on the patio on a warm evening. Would go back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zengirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, CT
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little off the beaten path in down town, but worth the trip.”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I went here when I was in LA last year- had the fish tacos made with grilled mahi mahi- they were very good as were the house ritas. Last year the tacos al pastor were also very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rfnpb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Hip Mexican restaurant sets the standard!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

As soon as you walk into Yxta (pronounced EEK-sta), you see a modern and eclectic interior designed by architect Poonam Khanna. Yxta is what I would call a chic Mexican restaurant.
They do make traditional Mexican dishes, but with classy presentation. For example, they don't serve refried pinto beans. Instead they use refried black beans sprinkled over the top with "queso blanco," which is similar to farmer cheese.
I ordered the Pollo en Mole Poblano, since I find that very few Mexican restaurants make "mole poblano" well. However, Yxta's mole poblano was exquisite! It was slightly thinner, and less sweet than traditional mole poblano, but it was delicious. They even sprinkled some pine nuts over the mole to add to the presentation.
As for dessert, I ordered the capirotada (Mexican bread pudding). Yxta was creative by making it a la mode and by adding a sprig of fresh spearmint leaf. The capirotada was an absolute delight for the palate! It was a fantastic way to end my meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GourmentSpector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Didn't know Mexican food could taste that good!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were a group of 25 people, about a third from the US, the others from all over the world. Most of us were not familiar with Mexican food and so had to rely on the advice of Yxta's Cathy Sudo to select a suitable menu. All dishes were very tasty and the service was excellent. The restaurant was perfect - we loved the decor and we had a great time. All of us can only recommend Yxta very highly.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SydKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing fine in the depths of downtown. Very tasty margaritas and Mole”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Went to the restaurant due to a BBE discount and ended up loving it. Great service, the salmon dish and chicken mole were amazing and the blood orange margarita was very fresh tasting and authentic. I highly recomend making the trek.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yxta also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Yxta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing