We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well... it was a great place once”
Review of 94th Aero Squadron

94th Aero Squadron
Reserve with OpenTable
94th Aero Squadron is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #578 of 9,944 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North San Fernando Valley
Cross street: Woodley and Roscoe
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well... it was a great place once”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Took my wife to a restaurant that I haven't been to in YEARS! Located off of Woodley, the 94th Aero Sqdn has a commanding view of the runways at Van Nuys Airport. Upon arrival, the grounds and the lot look presentable.

Inside it was obvious that the management staff has neglected the interior. First thing my wife noticed was an odd odor. I traced it to the lower level banquet facility. Kind of an old "musty" scent. The carpet throughout the location should've been replaced YEARS ago. Seating and booths are okay. Bar was okay also. The outside viewing area of the airport was good.

We were there yesterday (03/11) for lunch. Unaware that it was brunch/buffet only we were kinda surprised at that. Brunch/Buffet was about $28 each. Soft drinks were not included in that... they came from the bar so watch out for that additional cost. Food was terrific. Sampled lots of items. Have to tip my hat to the omlet chef... he's a wizard.

Odd set-up for a buffet. Once you get used to it.... it was enjoyable.

Would I return? Oh yes. The food is good and service is okay. Nice staff.

Guys... spend some $$$ on the interior. Start with the carpeting!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    31
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“FUN TO WATCH PLANES AND NOTHING ELSE”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We visited this restaurant with our son who loves to watch little jets take off and land. We sat outside on the patio and had a great view of planes, helicopters and the Amtrak train that came by once every 15 minutes.

The service was just standard, a little on the slow side, and nothing to even speak off.

The food - horrible. Greasy french fries that were never drained in an oil basket! The oil arrived on our plates! The fish had more batter than fish - truly horrible quality. I am not a picky person, and eat in many places, but this was unacceptable. My son's chicken strips were just OK. The only food was that was actually good on the table was the bread!

I do not think we will ever return unless we go for a soda or desert to simply watch planes. We actually felt sick to our stomachs from the food and left half of it on our plates.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsPack!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasVegas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“scenic place to dine and drink”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stopped for drinks and you are right on the runway of the VanNuys Airport. A great scenic place to drink and dine. Outdoor patio very attractive and has outdoor fireplaces. Service very good. Did not dine, but plan on returning to sample.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank fitzN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Finally a good Sunday brunch in California!”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Finally a good buffet in California! This place is second to Vegas casino buffets. We almost didn't come because it's at the airport and we weren't too sure but they thought of everything for the Sunday buffet. Plus the grounds are so nice and you can watch planes take off.  I am happy to finally find a good buffet in so cal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanierich12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food Ify service makes the food worse”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

food ok except for the kids Dont get the mac&cheese for the kiddies
drinks rotten "screwed up a rum & coke and a Jamesom on the rocks and the wine was stale"
Service our waiter didn't know the menu yelled at us and the children with the manager or what ever that guys was in the suit on a black berry our waiter and the guy in the suit seemed to have an elitist attitude twards the customers.
Kitchy/cheesey atmosphere

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lowbrow56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 94th Aero Squadron also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to 94th Aero Squadron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing