We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid hotel, value for location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel Hollywood
Ranked #10 of 91 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Perth Wa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good solid hotel, value for location”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Hollywood for 5 nights in May 2014. We had a room on ground floor. Overall we were very satisfied with our experience considering the location and value.

Hotel is close to CVS, public transport and many local attractions (walk of fame, Chinese theater, Ripley's). We found it very easy to commute to Staples center and Santa Monica via public transport, although it took an hr yo get to beach by bus.

Room and bathroom tiny, but relatively comfortable. Extremely happy with breakfast, toast your own bagels with jam and cream cheese. Coffee and OJ. Fruit and cereal bars were easy to take as snacks for the day.

We would absolutely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for comfortable good value hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    235
    116
    26
    25
See reviews for
49
276
63
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kunming, China
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Had a good experience here. The only thing I can say negatively is that we were arriving in L.A. at around 7am, by the time we had made our way to the hotel it was around 8am and the doors weren't open and there was nobody inside to let us in. We called them and we could hear the phone ringing for a long time with no answer. As we were stood there wondering what to do, a man who was a guest walked past us and we asked him if we knew when they would open and he told us he thinks around 9am. We waited for an hour or so for somebody to arrive and let us in. After that everything was great though! We had obviously arrived really early and hoped to store our bags, but they already had a room ready for us so we got to check in very early which was great. There is a nice, free breakfast and coffee every morning downstairs which was a nice surprise! The rooms weren't huge but definitely weren't too small. It was clean with a good shower and the bed was comfy. We spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed it, thanks!

Room Tip: Don't arrive before 9, you won't be able to get in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

First of all I can't agree with other tripadvisor reviews that the location is shady. It is simply not! It is really close to the walk of fame and hustle and bustle of Hollywood. I looked at a lot of reviews on line and believe me for the money you pay per night this is the place to be. This hotel is extremely well kept and the Queen bed is simply the best I ever slept on if I compare it to the same style hotel where we stayed. It is very clean, there is a breakfast served and the staff is extremely nice and helpful. We came in on a red eye flight and got to the hotel at 8.30 am. Still after been fully booked they told us to come back at 11.00 am. Our room would be ready for us at this time. We were able to leave to suitcase go for breakfast and when we got back the room was ready for us. This is service! Simply go there. We loved it.

Room Tip: I would go for a room on the top floor (although there is no elevator).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkusvdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel is in a central location, just minutes from the walk of fame. I would really recommend this hotel for the location and for the very low price. There is a supermarket open 24/24 and the hotel has a private parking that you can use with a small fee.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here for four nights in June 2014. Such a central location - about ten mins' walk from Hollywood Blvd and the tourist centre of town. Staff were really nice, friendly and helpful - and knowledgeable about the area, transport, tours, etc. My bag arrived late and they helped out with finding phone chargers, etc. All you need is nearby - several places to eat, a chemist, and a couple of other handy general stores. The place could perhaps do with a bit of a facelift, but it was perfectly fine, and never less than extremely clean. Efficient air-con in room and continental breakfast perfect start to the day. Would happily recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Asked for a quiet room and got one away from the stair (busy, as there's no lift). It was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinburgh_visitor51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Hotel has been nicely renovated and rooms are cosy and comfy. Although we arrived three hours early, we were able to check in and were warmly welcomed. Bed was a little on the hard side for us but this is just a personal preference. Ceiling fan and air conditioning were welcome inclusions. The absence of an ice machine and a hair dryer were all we found wanting. Breakfast was good with bagels, fruit, cereal bars, coffee and juice available. Our host at the front desk was very obliging, looking after our luggage after check out until we had to go to the airport. Dont let the neighborhood criticisms put you off. We found it interesting and colorful and the hotel history enough to make our stay here enjoyable.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank happyday59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calasparra, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was clean and comfortable. We had a room overlooking the courtyard. Shame there were no chairs on our terrace. We didn`t have a car, but local transport was brilliant. Great discounts for the over 55's. Went by bus to Santa Monica, under a dollar return. Breakfast was ok, omelettes cooked fresh with mushroom, tomato or/and pepper filling.
Good hotel overall, shame about the location. Area quite shabby and run down. Lots off vagrants! But they didn't hassle you.

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard was lovely, guests having a late night drink were not intrusive and left b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thedancer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#44 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,451 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 351 in Los Angeles
400 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,869 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,129 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hollywood

Property: The Hotel Hollywood
Address: 6364 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hollywood is an historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Hollywood, "as close as you can get" to all the action and glamour of the world’s most visited city. The hotel is situated just one block north of the famed Hollywood Boulevard. Centrally located to everything Hollywood has to offer; The Hollywood Bowl, Mann's Chinese Theater, Walk of Fame, Kodak Theatre, Pantages Theatre, Movie Star Homes and much more are all just steps away, making The Hotel Hollywood the most accessible of all the Hollywood, CA, hotels. You can even hop on the Metro Red Line, the city's subway that links Hollywood to Universal Studios and the Greater Los Angeles Area, making your stay that much more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hotel Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westside Rentals Hollywood
Westside Rentals Hollywood Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing