We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Hollywood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel Hollywood
Ranked #10 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed two nights last week. The room was clean and not to hot! Good value ! The area is not great and I would not walk around there on my own. There is a great 7/11 over the road ! The free breakfast was good but the small area very congested!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canice2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    204
    95
    21
    21
See reviews for
39
229
59
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Arrived for a 3 night stay in August as part of our US Tour.
On arrival the man in reception greeted us and was really friendly.
Our room was on the ground floor next to the managers office. I was REALLY disappointed.
I did not expect much for the price but it looked so basic.
In the room was a bed, a TV, fridge, microwave, some plastic cups, only 1 bedside cabinet and no wardrobe just a rack on the wall for you to hang clothes on.
No coffee maker...nothing else
The one positive thing i will say it was very clean indeed oh and the air con worked well.

I felt very nervous - the area looks a little shady and there were some people hanging around when we arrived who took a great deal of notice of us. The window wasnt actually locked and our room looked into an alley way - I felt very vulnerable. Went back to reception to see if we could move and was told no (seems they were full) but I was given assurances that the alley gate is locked and that it is safe. Too tired at that stage to do anything else.

We decided to make the best of it as at least it was clean and wanted to have a shower and get ready to go out.
There was no iron or ironing board so my husband went to reception and we were provided with an Iron and the funniest little ironing board I have ever seen - it was teeny. The sort of thing you perhaps add to an existing ironing board to do shirt sleeves! I will add some photos and this will show how funny it was.

The shower was rubbish - very poor pressure but again we managed.

We found the hotel to be conveniently located. A 5-10 minute walk from the underground at Hollywood/Highland. We used this to get around to Chinatown and to Universal Studios which we enjoyed. Lots of places to eat for all budgets near by and some really interesting shops, bars, tattoo parlours etc on the walk of fame which starts a few minutes away.
If you dont have a car then you will be fine here - we didnt as only here for a few days.

Breakfast was fine actually. The breakfast area is situated in the same place as reception and it is TINY! no room at all. In the end because our room was close by I nipped in and grabbed what we needed and ate on the room, on the funny ironing board which was on the bed...because there was no where else to put it ha!
We were really laughing at this point and starting to enjoy the slightly quirky nature of this place.
Breakfast was coffee, juice, cereal bars and very nice bagels - enough to get us going and I was happy with it.

Free internet use in the hallway - 2PCs but no printer.

On our last day I needed to book transport to airport. I used the free internet to book supershuttle and emailed the voucher to the hotel and the man in reception (im sorry I didnt catch his name!) printed them off.

He is fantastic, very friendly and will do anything to help you!!

So - ok I do prefer a little more luxury and didnt do my research before I booked BUT - its cheap, clean, staff are nice and its convenient - cannot find fault with that.
The area does not look great but actually we had no issues at all and we were safe!!! The doors are all well locked so nothing to worry about.
Would I stay there again - hmmm actually i am not sure - it was fun in a way

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cookla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was exactly what we needed on our first night in LA. Good location right off the strip, nicely made up peaceful room (tip: room 312 on third floor is good), jet lagged stumbling distance from food, drink and a 7/11! Big comfortable beds, ceiling fan & AC, free WiFi. What more could you need? Not many "good" restaurants nearby. It's telling that strip eateries are little reviewed, but if just want a feed and fast food is fine then you'll be fine. Little Devils on the strip seemed to pitch it right to our market, but we'd already eaten at Sharkey's which was fast and fun & 2 mins away!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Exiled_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a nice buget hotel with all the amenities you can possibly think of. Clean and well designed. Its near to walk of fame an has lot of eating joints around.To our surprise we could find a nice Indian restaurant right across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chweetpriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Found this hotel through priceline and went with it because it had the highest cleanliness rating. The rating was right, very clean hotel, friendly staff, and super convenient location in walking distance to food, bars, and the whole "Hollywood scene". The rooms were small but it ended up being super cozy and just what we wanted. It was also very quiet and peaceful inside. Minutes away from universal studios as well. Kind of felt like a bed and breakfast! Highly recommend this place for a couples getaway to experience the hustle and bustle of Hollywood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester Uk
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. It is a very basic hotel and the decor could do with a bit of a upgrade and repaint. We stayed in room 101 which was reportedly the room James Dean stayed in. We were a little worried about noise as it was right at the bottom of the stairwell by the main entrance and breakfast area but we didn't really find it a problem accept for occasional noise from the room above us.

Yes, breakfast is very minimal and there is not enough space for people to eat. In that regard, having a room so close was a bonus as we just ate it in our room.

The location is pretty good. One block away from the walk of fame and close to many attractions. It is also close to the underground and only one or two stops from Universal Studios. Getting to Disney land takes longer, but word of advice- dont bother taking coach to get to Disney. You pay over the odds and have to leave the park quite early. Instead take the tube and a bus (you can get all details from tourist information office by tube station). It only takes a few minutes more journey wise and is a fraction of the price. Also you get mire flexibility to come and go as you please.

In all, for the price we paid this was an ok hotel. The area seemed pretty safe and quiet but you are close to everything Las Vegas is famous for!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoandBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The staff is wonderful especially Travis. The rooms are great, no elevators. You never know who you may see at night. Charlie the ghost stays in the washing room area, and turns the washing machines on with no money, so, talk nice when washing clothes. The washing machines are free after 4 pm. James Dean stayed in room 102 and Marilyn Monroe stayed in room 306. It is close to Hollywood blvd and Sunset, you could walk everywhere, just great

Room Tip: choose James Dean room 102, or Marilyn Monroe room 306. No elevators on floors, rooms have microwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#42 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 2,010 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,783 reviews
Central L.A
BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn
BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn
#90 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,863 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hollywood

Property: The Hotel Hollywood
Address: 6364 Yucca St, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5009
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hollywood is an historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Hollywood, "as close as you can get" to all the action and glamour of the world’s most visited city. The hotel is situated just one block north of the famed Hollywood Boulevard. Centrally located to everything Hollywood has to offer; The Hollywood Bowl, Mann's Chinese Theater, Walk of Fame, Kodak Theatre, Pantages Theatre, Movie Star Homes and much more are all just steps away, making The Hotel Hollywood the most accessible of all the Hollywood, CA, hotels. You can even hop on the Metro Red Line, the city's subway that links Hollywood to Universal Studios and the Greater Los Angeles Area, making your stay that much more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westside Rentals Hollywood
Westside Rentals Hollywood Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing