We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Hollywood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hotel Hollywood
Ranked #10 of 86 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very clean old hotel. Room nice and comfy. Laundry room in the basement came in handy. Free breakfast was ok. Staff very friendly. You are in a good location to visit the sites but the area around is dodgy with lots of down and outs sleeping on the street which is distressing. Although I didn't feel unsafe I wouldn't like to walk around on my own at night and I definitely wouldn't go there with children.
We didn't really enjoy Los Angeles and were glad to leave but were happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for and got a room on the 3rd floor and it was nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanaespana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    220
    103
    25
    23
See reviews for
43
255
61
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a really good hotel if you don't want to spent too much money in a hotel.

Rooms very well cleaned, hotel just one block from hollywood blvd.

Just one complain, the place to have breakfast is small, but it's not a big deal.

I've got a good price, less than $30 per night.

I would recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgtbreitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

came here for three nights, late check-in worked perfectly. Breakfast basic but good. Fresh bagels, jelly, butter, cream cheese. Fresh coffee, orange juice and granola bars. All you need to fill you up for a day of sightseeing. 5-7mins walk from Hollywood/Vine station, 10-12mins walk from the Dolby Theatre (former Kodak).
Bed was super comfortable (memory foam) and the shower was very nice, too. Had a fridge and a microwave in the room.
Hollywood is a little run-down, however, we always felt safe.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked here for 4 nights via booking.com. As soon as we arrived the staff have been accomodating and professional. The whole place always smells very good and looks perfectly tidy, so did the room. Special motion for the bed with shape memory, it was incredible and we never had such a good one in all the other hotels we tried, mostly more expensive during our 3 weeks stay in the US.
The location is great to plan trips around LA & Hollywood.

Helpful?
2 Thank naturalG
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Location is excellent, even though Hollywood Blvd. especially Walk of Fame area is full of strange types at night. We were stranded at the airport due to bad weather so we came 1 day later. They didn't charge for 1st night even though they could because we didn't show up an modified our reservation in time. Reception is tiny so breakfast is little bit of a challenge, but overall experience with hotel was great.
Room hasn't any view, wide space between floor and bathroom's door, it's not very modern. But these were just details :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Very happy with this hotel. Great value for money. Location is a short walk from the major Hollywood attractions. The room was cute, clean, bed was comfortable and staff were helpful. They kept our bags for most of the day as we arrived before checkin and also on the day we checked out. The room wasn't large but that didn't bother us and there was still a fridge if you wanted one. Breakfast was basic but fine and all you need for a quick bite to eat to start the day. I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland/Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Location is excellent, just one street away from Hollywood Blvds ‘Stars’, Eating, Drinking and Shopping, close to Griffith Park, Universal and Warner Bros studios. The Hotel was lovely and our room was very clean with beautiful hard wood beds – very comfortable. It was nice to think that Marilyn Monroe once stayed in a room two doors down from us. There is secure parking 100m away. The breakfast was basic and consisted of fruit; Banana/Apple, Breakfast bar etc… enough to get you going. There are laundry facilities downstairs and a convenience store across the street. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends and family – Good Value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finnvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#46 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,197 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hollywood

Property: The Hotel Hollywood
Address: 6364 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hollywood is an historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Hollywood, "as close as you can get" to all the action and glamour of the world’s most visited city. The hotel is situated just one block north of the famed Hollywood Boulevard. Centrally located to everything Hollywood has to offer; The Hollywood Bowl, Mann's Chinese Theater, Walk of Fame, Kodak Theatre, Pantages Theatre, Movie Star Homes and much more are all just steps away, making The Hotel Hollywood the most accessible of all the Hollywood, CA, hotels. You can even hop on the Metro Red Line, the city's subway that links Hollywood to Universal Studios and the Greater Los Angeles Area, making your stay that much more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hotel Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westside Rentals Hollywood
Westside Rentals Hollywood Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing