We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Value and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Hollywood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hotel Hollywood to your Saves list
The Hotel Hollywood
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   6364 Yucca St, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5009 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

As a solo traveler I was relieved to find this comfortable and clean hotel at the end of my 12 hour flight. It is easy to find located between Hollywood/Vine and Hollywood/Highland just off of Hollywood Boulevard. Have I mentioned it's in Hollywood? Staff were not overly engaging but were polite and happy to answer queries. Take your continental breakfast to your room if you are xenophobic.As a first taste of America I was impressed, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I did not find the road noise at all distracting but if you think you might, pack ear-plugs.

Room Tip: I think a room facing the street is more interesting, 201 and 301 may be slightly larger, but don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowanaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    204
    95
    21
    21
See reviews for
39
229
59
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in 5 hotels across the states in 3 weeks, and this was by far the best. We got off a 7am flight from Australia and headed straight to the hotel thinking we could drop off our bags and look around for the day until we were able to check in (we so badly needed a sleep/shower). When we got there at 8.30am, the helpful guy said our room was ready for us! Awesome.

Room was spotless, perfect sized bed, tv, storage, clean shower and little nook for a fridge and desk (and suitcase storage!). Safe area of town, we could casually walk around at 3 in the morning without a bother. Quiet spot, off a main road with a short walk to all the action on Hollywood Blvd. We really couldn't have picked a better spot. Super friendly and attentive staff, and the breakfast was a really nice addition!

Right across from a CVS, market and pizza shop.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend to anyone else.

Room Tip: We asked for a room that wasn't on ground floor and this was easily accommodated. We stayed at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our first visit to LA/Hollywood, and enjoyed it very much. The desk clerks were both very helpful and friendly, the location was close to the Hollywood blvd, the rooms were a bit small, but large enough to be comfortable, the bed was nice, the shower a bit low for my taste (6ft6" tall), but nice and warm and the breakfast was simple (bagels with cream cheese, jam or butter, orange juice, fruit and granola bars) but enjoyable nonetheless.

All in all a good stay and not too expensive. I would recommend it to anyone on a modest budget.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
511 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Only one thing keeps this from being a dive. If you are an old movie buff you have the opportunity to stay in the rooms formerly occupied by James Dean and Marilyn Monroe. Based on this I called and spoke to Corinna, the front desk manager, to book 2 nights four nights apart. She assured me that the Monroe room was available the first night and the Dean room the second night. Upon arrival the night clerk advised me I would be getting a regular room since the Monroe room was already occupied. The next morning I cancelled my second reservation. I had no reason to believe the Dean room would be available and didn't want to stay again out of necessity. I don't know if Corinna is incompetent or dishonest but if she reserves one of these rooms for you don't count on it being available. As for the rest of the visit: (1) the neighborhood is a little dicey, (2) the breakfast is completely ordinary and there are only 2 small tables that share space with the front desk (3) the shower is nice and large but the shower head fell off while I was showering (4) there is no elevator and (5) it has no decor to speak off. The rooms have the personality of a dorm room. I will say that the night clerk was willing to help with my luggage had I needed it. I was really excited when I stumbled on to this place but it was a very big disappointment.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room if you don't want to carry your bags up 1-2 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lannyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel hollywood for 2 nights and those nights were perfect. Great location (hollywood boulevard is next to the Hotel). Breakfast is good (bagels, fruits, coffee etc). The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you are visiting they are good tips for you. The only negative point I see is that the neighborhood was REALLY noisy.
I highly recommend this hotel for its price and its location. If I had to go back to LA I would definitely stay at the Hotel Hollywood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiliie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.. must say that the location is perfect for tourists who are in LA for the first time... just opposite the Capitol Records building the hotel is just 2 stations away from the Universal City.... The Hotel staff was very friendly n helpfull... i would say if i go again to LA i would saty in this hotel without a dought...:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sid230885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband ,10 yr old son and I stayed here. The rooms are very clean. Brand new showers. The hotel is 2 blocks from Metro. (Vine stn) great location. 24 hr pharmacy 1/2 block away with good view of Hollywood sign from that intersection. Easy walk to Hollywood Blvd ,then to Chinese theatre . Universal is 2 stops down on Metro. Very easy and cost $1.50 pp instead of $ 50 taxi.
Locals have been very helpful and friendly. We understand that we are in a major city and do not expect quiet at night.
The hotel is great value and very clean. This is a historic area so do not expect it to look like Beverly Hills. The staff are very helpful with directions. Breakfast was fresh bagels,coffee,juice and cereal bars. Quick and easy .
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose room on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#44 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 2,000 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,774 reviews
Central L.A
BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn
BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn
#90 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,848 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hollywood

Property: The Hotel Hollywood
Address: 6364 Yucca St, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5009
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hollywood is an historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Hollywood, "as close as you can get" to all the action and glamour of the world’s most visited city. The hotel is situated just one block north of the famed Hollywood Boulevard. Centrally located to everything Hollywood has to offer; The Hollywood Bowl, Mann's Chinese Theater, Walk of Fame, Kodak Theatre, Pantages Theatre, Movie Star Homes and much more are all just steps away, making The Hotel Hollywood the most accessible of all the Hollywood, CA, hotels. You can even hop on the Metro Red Line, the city's subway that links Hollywood to Universal Studios and the Greater Los Angeles Area, making your stay that much more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Hotel Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westside Rentals Hollywood
Westside Rentals Hollywood Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing