We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Hollywood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hotel Hollywood to your Saves list
The Hotel Hollywood
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   6364 Yucca St, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5009 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband ,10 yr old son and I stayed here. The rooms are very clean. Brand new showers. The hotel is 2 blocks from Metro. (Vine stn) great location. 24 hr pharmacy 1/2 block away with good view of Hollywood sign from that intersection. Easy walk to Hollywood Blvd ,then to Chinese theatre . Universal is 2 stops down on Metro. Very easy and cost $1.50 pp instead of $ 50 taxi.
Locals have been very helpful and friendly. We understand that we are in a major city and do not expect quiet at night.
The hotel is great value and very clean. This is a historic area so do not expect it to look like Beverly Hills. The staff are very helpful with directions. Breakfast was fresh bagels,coffee,juice and cereal bars. Quick and easy .
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose room on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    204
    95
    21
    21
See reviews for
39
229
59
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I'd compare it to a lesser Motel 6, bc you can hear everything, no coffee machine, no elevators, nothing on walls, furniture looks 40 years old. We booked it bc of Trip Advisor reviews-which now seem like a scam. BC NO WAY IS THIS PLACE 3 OR 4 ****

Room Tip: Choose no room-just spend the $ and get a better room somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

room was clean, bed was comfortable, no complaints on the bathroom/ shower. Friendly staffs and nice breakfast + fruits. location was the most excellent part, walking distance to the whole Hollywood area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennymsc520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I loved everything about the Hotel Hollywood. Great low price, very clean room (more about that later), excellent shower, friendly staff, and unbeatable location, especially since I was going to the Cinerama Dome on Sunset Blvd. every night. 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. Metro Red Line train is about 5 minutes away on foot.

I was lucky enough to get Room #306, where Marilyn Monroe stayed in the 1950's, when she was still a contact player at 20th Century-Fox before hitting it big. I could almost feel the presence of Marilyn in that room. A definite old Hollywood vibe, from the time when all the studios were turning out one classic after another. You don't get that from a modern skyscraper hotel.

There's also an excellent Italian restaurant directly across the street. If I ever go back to LA, I will definitely stay here. Maybe I'll try for the James Dean room next time.

Room Tip: The bathroom in the Marilyn Monroe room has a great view of the Capitol Records Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

If you want to stay near the walk of fame, an not pay too much, this is probably your place. The room wasn't exactly new, but had everything you'd expect from a hotel of this class. Checkin was really friendly, and the location was great.

The only drawbacks were that the mattress was a bit to used to be relly comfy, and parking was an extra 15 bucks.

If I ever had a reason to come back to Hollywood, I'd stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank averell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I am a minimalist, so this was a perfect choice: great location (a block away from Hollywood/Vine metro station), 5 min away from the Walk of Fame, 10 min away from the Dolby and Grauman's Theaters... CVS is right around the corner. There's a bus stop right next to the hotel - you'll be able to get to Burbank and go to the Warner Bros. Studio (bus #222). All kinds of restaurants and mini-food markets are within a walking distance, too), great price (I booked mine for $80/night), free breakfast (simple but enough to fuel up in the morning (bagels, juice, coffee, granola bars). The front desk (Karina) was very helpful and super-friendly.
The room itself is simple: a big bed, a microwave, a mini-fridge, a 6-drawer dresser, and a nice bathroom (you can actually sit in the bathtub as there is an "edge" within it for sitting down!). Very clean. No tea/coffeemaker, though, which was a bit inconvenient because I like to enjoy a cup of tea in the evening... Breakfast starts at 8 am on weekdays and at 9 am on weekends. Maybe because they already provide tea/coffee at breakfast, there's no coffeemaker in the room?.. Oh, well. Get your coffee at Starbucks - you are on the west coast, there are tons of them :-)
AC is powerful but you get to control how hot/cold you want it.
To sum things up, I really did love the hotel. It's a great deal and a gem. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha NE
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel was an excellent place to stay at during our visit in LA. We met friends there for the week. They had stayed previously and spoke highly of the property. The hotel is a boutique hotel - small, but a nice hotel. The room was excellent. The room was clean. The staff was very friendly. They provided more personal service because of the size of the hotel. It is a 3-floor walk-up, so if you have issues with climbing stairs, it may not be the spot for you. But, for us, it was great! My wife and I agreed that should we travel to LA again, we would stay there. Plus, we have recommended it to others. The only knock I have is the continental breakfast. The food and drinks were fine, but the food is served in small lobby. Plus, they do not serve until 8 a.m. We were usually already out and about by then. That was not a major concern for us, though. A major plus for the hotel is its location - about 1.5 blocks from Capital Records and about a 2-block walk from the Walk of Fame. It is centrally located to the history of Hollywood.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustangdad1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#44 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 2,000 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,774 reviews
Central L.A
BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn
BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn
#90 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,850 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hollywood

Property: The Hotel Hollywood
Address: 6364 Yucca St, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5009
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hollywood is an historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Hollywood, "as close as you can get" to all the action and glamour of the world’s most visited city. The hotel is situated just one block north of the famed Hollywood Boulevard. Centrally located to everything Hollywood has to offer; The Hollywood Bowl, Mann's Chinese Theater, Walk of Fame, Kodak Theatre, Pantages Theatre, Movie Star Homes and much more are all just steps away, making The Hotel Hollywood the most accessible of all the Hollywood, CA, hotels. You can even hop on the Metro Red Line, the city's subway that links Hollywood to Universal Studios and the Greater Los Angeles Area, making your stay that much more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Hotel Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westside Rentals Hollywood
Westside Rentals Hollywood Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing