We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel Hollywood
Ranked #10 of 91 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good option at a reasonable price”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We came here upon arrival in the USA and were very glad for the comfortable bed. The queen sized mattress was fine for my me, my wife and our toddler. The wireless internet connection was pretty good in the room and I was able to plug in my computer via ethernet. The room itself was not very big, but adequate. We appreciated having a microwave in the room and the drawers were spacious. There was no view to speak of, but we weren't there for that anyway. Free breakfast was a nice touch, even if it's not very exciting. It is served in the reception area.

The location was really good - it's a short walk to Hollywood Boulevard and it doesn't take all that long to get to the main part e.g. the area around Kodak Theater. Hollywood/Vine station is around 500 metres away. We ended up going there quite a lot. There are also buses along Hollywood Blvd. We went to Santa Monica that way. If you need to go to West Hollywood (I had a night out at the Whisky A Go Go), you can get a bus on Sunset Boulevard, or apparently a taxi might cost $50

All in all I would recommend it to people who don't want to spend too much, but want a comfortable stay. We tried to book there again on our return to LA, but it was booked out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWinmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    235
    115
    26
    25
See reviews for
49
275
63
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, our room was on groundfloor with the window to street. Firstly we were little disappointed but there was really no problem with it. The street isn's noisy, we can check our car outside :) and the room was more spacious because it was handicap accessible, especially the bathroom was big. The simple breakfast is included in the price which was little surprise for us. The location is excellent, approx. 10 min to Universal Studious or Hollywood sign or Beverly Hills by car, just round the corner of Hollywood Boulevard and the famous Walk of Fame.
Paid parking places are close, however it's possible to park on the street for small parking fee which is necessary to pay from 7am to 7 pm and you don't exceed 2 hours in total.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lenicka15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We utterly enjoyed our stay at this hotel: the bedroom is spacious, with a nice comfortable bathroom, mini-bar,microwave and they provide for an iron if you need ironing.There is also a laudry.The beds are comfortable and the hotel is in general a quiet one.The front desk staff (especially Don and on occasion David, the manager), are extremely nice and helpful, very professional, and they provide hints on what to do, where to go, what to see, where do dine and how to it the best way. They even book several tours for you when possible. The hotel is clean, close to Hollywood Boulevard, a 10 minute walk is enough, in a safe area.The breakfast, though not much varied, provides for a good meal and fills your stomach (there should be however, milk, water and some croissants, and maybe some cheese or ham - there are three kinds of bagels, jam, fruit, coffee, and butter, and toasters to toast them). One negative aspect are the shades in the bedroom that don't cut off the light completely, so if you are sensitive to light you might wake up earlier than you want. However, and nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay to the hilt!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nando2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at The Hotel Hollywood for three nights and were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It was clean and very well located close to Hollywood Boulevard. The room was nice with plenty of space, flat screen tv, desk area, etc. The hotel offered free wi-fi which worked well and the continental breakfast was fine although quite limited. The hotel is an older building that has been remodeled and for the most part it works quite well. I would not hesitate to stay here again as the hotel is a good value for the price.

That said there were a few negatives although none of them would be considered deal breakers for the price of the hotel. Keep in mind that this hotel is an older building and does not have an elevator so you will most likely be carrying your luggage up a flight or two. The hotel also has no dedicated parking which leaves you with the option of parking on the street but this is VERY limited and you will need to be up first thing in the morning to start pumping money into the meter. The other option is a parking garage about a block away that the hotel has a contract with ($15 per day). We also had no housekeeping services at all during the 4 days (3 nights) even though we did see them around. And lastly they claimed to have a business center but when I needed to make a copy I was told there was no copy machine on site. He then turned around and started making copies but refused to let me pay for one. I got the impression that since I was checking out that it really didn't matter to him. Very odd as they were all quite friendly and helpful up to that point.

Overall, pretty good hotel. Especially for the price. Yes, it's not located in the nicest of areas but we never felt nervous in the area including at night. i would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a decent hotel for a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front of the hotel as there was alot of noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bphawk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were in need of a nice clean place that was easy on the pocketbook. We got exactly what we were looking for. We stayed for 7 days- we were given big savings for staying that duration.

I'm kinda a germaphobe, so I was pleasantly pleased with the cleanliness of the room (I was even comfortable enough to walk around the carpeted floor without socks or flip-flops).

The room itself was basic... Nothing fancy, but again clean and satisfactory. One of my complaints about the room was that there was no closet- nowhere to hang our clothes. We easily fixed this problem by hanging our clothes on the window's curtain rod (see pix).

This hotel is located in close proximity (walking distance) to the party spots. With that being said, you can expect difficulty finding parking- especially in he evening. Also you can expect partyers staying at the hotel and possible getting loud. I must admit during my stay- I think it was a Friday night, some patrons were prepping to go out for the night, talking loud and playing loud music. The distraction was short-lived (maybe less than 30 min). This did not make me think negatively about the place.

Dustin and the staff were welcoming and full of advise and information. In enjoyed knowing that Marilyn Monroe and James Dean ( among others) used to reside here.

Great price, great location, clean rooms....Without a doubt, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trippin5122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Convenient, clean and comfortable sleeping. A bit noisy, as apartment next door created noise with open windows - including an annoying dog barking. The perfect solution was to run the air conditioning and sleep came quickly - great mattress! Note - hair dryer is listed as an amenity, but it's not in the room. You have to ask for it down at the desk. The breakfast room gets too crowded, too fast. I found it easier to just take my coffee and bagel back to my room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Hollywood Vine metro station is an easy 5 minute walk. The area is a little grungy at night, but being solo didn't really give me much concern. Lots to see, entertainment and eat in the area.
Would stay again, just to be in this location. The price was very good value and staff was friendly.

Likes:
Coin laundry available (but after a certain time, for the hotel staff has exclusive use of them)
Microwave and fridge
Fan and AC
Simple continental breakfast
WiFi
Vending machines and change machine

Could be better:
Could hear your neighbors quite easily
My room window was right by where the staff does laundry outside in the mornings or something, but you can hear the staff talking.
Ants manage to find their way in

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#43 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,449 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 351 in Los Angeles
397 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,859 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,125 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#21 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hollywood

Property: The Hotel Hollywood
Address: 6364 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hollywood is an historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Hollywood, "as close as you can get" to all the action and glamour of the world’s most visited city. The hotel is situated just one block north of the famed Hollywood Boulevard. Centrally located to everything Hollywood has to offer; The Hollywood Bowl, Mann's Chinese Theater, Walk of Fame, Kodak Theatre, Pantages Theatre, Movie Star Homes and much more are all just steps away, making The Hotel Hollywood the most accessible of all the Hollywood, CA, hotels. You can even hop on the Metro Red Line, the city's subway that links Hollywood to Universal Studios and the Greater Los Angeles Area, making your stay that much more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hotel Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westside Rentals Hollywood
Westside Rentals Hollywood Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing