We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Beach Front Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venice On The Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Venice On The Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Venice On The Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing Beach Front Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, the staff was very friendly. My room was a little dated but very clean.

It was very nice sleeping with the sound of the ocean in the background. The views from the hotel were spectacular.

Breakfast was cereal, bagels, coffee and Juice. I took my breakfast up to the upper deck and enjoyed the morning views. You can walk a few minutes and eat breakfast near the pier or go to Starbucks.

If a parking stall is available, Parking is free, If a spot is not available you can park on the street just a few minutes from the hotel. If you do park on the street make sure you check the street signs for street sweeping days.

Room Tip: I was in room 15 on the first floor, with a nice large window. I would only stay in this room if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    170
    39
    16
    23
See reviews for
54
241
45
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Excellent small hotel on the seafront with a great rooftop terrace to watch the sun go down and have breakfast. The rooms have all been recently renovated and are very clean.

The room was very light and we liked the wooden flooring to (compared to carpeting). The bed was very great (tempura matras).

The breakfast was very good (compared to 10 different motels we stayed at before during our trip but it remains meager to European standards).

Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Washinton Blvd (Cafe Hinano we'd recommend) and Venice beach are close by (a few minutes away) and Santa Monica (pier) is an hours walk away.

Room Tip: We had room 11, which we'd recommend as we heard it was the roomiest. It is on the beach front s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJH2724SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Schweiz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Def recom this hotel.. perfectly located, clean, reasonable rate.. all in one 5 stars here we go.
Food and drinking spots just around the corner... inline skates or bikes can be rented 5min walk frm the hotel.

Breakfast buffet a little slim , but i'm not a breakfast person anyway.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank svenfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Venice on the Beach is just that - right on Venice beach.
Pros:
The location is fantastic, just a boardwalk away from the beach and with awesome sunsets.
Comfy and spacious rooms, with TV and fridge freezer
Friendly staff
Intimate atmosphere
Limited free parking.
Great seating area at the front to watch the sunsets and the joggers.
Cons:
Very difficult to find. Do not put the hotel address in your satnav, you will never find it. Use the service street behind it called "Speedway" instead.
Breakfast was basic and whilst eaten on the roof terrace, there were no seats to speak of, so you have to stand up to admire the view.
Not all rooms have a sea view. Not a great problem as you will probably be out of the room on the beach itself most of the time.
The plumbing in our room was pretty antiquated and rusty. We've seen better in 3rd world countries!

All in all, we really loved it here and it's a peaceful haven in the huge metropolis of LA.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is a gem. Are room was on the 2nd flloor with a great ocean view. The beds are big and comfortable, the bath rooms are nice. The roof top patio and the ground level patio are wonderful. The staff was great. They would bend over backwards to help. The only things I would change would be an ice machine, maybe add air conditioning. It was very nice in late October and we didn't need it, and and a few fire pits on the patios would be nice for late evenings.

The hotel is located nicely on the beach. With restaurants a few blocks away and the circus know as venice beach boardwalk a few blocks the other way.

I can't wait to return.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrjagerbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Basic accomodation, with a great location. Room sizes vary quite a bit. Most have ocean view, if you pay a little extra. There is a terrace on the roof, with no chairs or tables except for some boxes, but there is a nice view. Breakfast is very simple and you bring the food to your room or up on the terrace.
Right on the Beach with short walk to several OK restaurants. The Venice Canals area is right by and very nice for an evening walk. You can rent bikes almost next door and have a nice ride to Santa Monica, a few kilometers along the beach way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our honeymoon and it was frickin awesome...right on venice beach...roof top patio to chill and watch the waves....bed was super comfortable....room was always clean ....and my advice to nay sayers...yes the room is small but super intimate and comfy...great location...safe and beautiful scenery.....parking is limited but if u need to.park on pacific ave its not s big desl...you are in californis..no complaining!!!! being from canada this is a must stay for people who don't live by the sea....do it and enjoy it its awesome! !!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshFink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#57 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#16 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#190 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice On The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice On The Beach Hotel

Property: Venice On The Beach Hotel
Address: 2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#37 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#82 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Venice On The Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased that you are considering the truly only Ocean Front Boutique Hotel in Venice California. Our Hotel is conveniently located between Santa Monica and Marina del Rey. We have Flat Screen TV, Refrigerators and Microwaves in each of our rooms. All the rooms are individual and well appointed with amenities that will always under promise and over deliver for you. Parking is very limited, we have a total of 8 parking spaces for guests to use, and they are done by reservation only. If there is no parking available, our front desk staff will be happy to assist you in finding free public parking in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Venice On The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Venice On The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing