We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location for those with simple tastes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Venice On The Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Ranked #52 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location for those with simple tastes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Venice on the Beach is just that - right on Venice beach.
Pros:
The location is fantastic, just a boardwalk away from the beach and with awesome sunsets.
Comfy and spacious rooms, with TV and fridge freezer
Friendly staff
Intimate atmosphere
Limited free parking.
Great seating area at the front to watch the sunsets and the joggers.
Cons:
Very difficult to find. Do not put the hotel address in your satnav, you will never find it. Use the service street behind it called "Speedway" instead.
Breakfast was basic and whilst eaten on the roof terrace, there were no seats to speak of, so you have to stand up to admire the view.
Not all rooms have a sea view. Not a great problem as you will probably be out of the room on the beach itself most of the time.
The plumbing in our room was pretty antiquated and rusty. We've seen better in 3rd world countries!

All in all, we really loved it here and it's a peaceful haven in the huge metropolis of LA.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    179
    40
    17
    23
See reviews for
60
255
46
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is a gem. Are room was on the 2nd flloor with a great ocean view. The beds are big and comfortable, the bath rooms are nice. The roof top patio and the ground level patio are wonderful. The staff was great. They would bend over backwards to help. The only things I would change would be an ice machine, maybe add air conditioning. It was very nice in late October and we didn't need it, and and a few fire pits on the patios would be nice for late evenings.

The hotel is located nicely on the beach. With restaurants a few blocks away and the circus know as venice beach boardwalk a few blocks the other way.

I can't wait to return.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrjagerbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Basic accomodation, with a great location. Room sizes vary quite a bit. Most have ocean view, if you pay a little extra. There is a terrace on the roof, with no chairs or tables except for some boxes, but there is a nice view. Breakfast is very simple and you bring the food to your room or up on the terrace.
Right on the Beach with short walk to several OK restaurants. The Venice Canals area is right by and very nice for an evening walk. You can rent bikes almost next door and have a nice ride to Santa Monica, a few kilometers along the beach way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our honeymoon and it was frickin awesome...right on venice beach...roof top patio to chill and watch the waves....bed was super comfortable....room was always clean ....and my advice to nay sayers...yes the room is small but super intimate and comfy...great location...safe and beautiful scenery.....parking is limited but if u need to.park on pacific ave its not s big desl...you are in californis..no complaining!!!! being from canada this is a must stay for people who don't live by the sea....do it and enjoy it its awesome! !!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshFink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We only had a short stay here, but we loved every minute of it. This is a small, very quiet boutique hotel right on the beach (literally, you get a key to the private patio that opens up onto the ocean walk).

Stay close by! The dining/nightlife just down the way from the hotel beats Venice Beach proper, and even the Mexican restaurant at the end of the Santa Monica pier!

Also, make sure to stop by the liquor store at the corner to have a private cocktail on the rooftop patio overlooking the waves and the ocean walk passersby.

If we are in Venice again, we will be here! Thanks!

p.s. A person had parallel parked across the alley in back of the hotel, leaving me very little room to back out of my parking spot. The manager came out to help guide me out of the spot without clipping that car. Much appreciated!

Room Tip: Open the window at night to hear the ocean! :) Also, try to get there early. 14 rooms, 8 parking sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B4P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here for three nights to relax after doing Route 66. Great decision. We were swayed by the fact that the hotel is right on the beach and this was brilliant. Literally out the front gate, across the board walk and onto the beach. While other have said that the rooms were a bit tight, we booked the patio suite and had loads of room, bedroom, living area and kitchen. There are loads of great bars and restaurants within very easy walking distance. The extremely interesting Venice board walk is yards away and the Santa Monica pier is an easy 45 minute stroll away. The staff were friendly and unobtrusive and willing to book cabs etc. A very nice place to chill out in and we were very sorry to have to leave.

Room Tip: For space book the patio suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EliKoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel really is something special. Firstly, its location is incredible. It is literally on the beach (as the name suggests). It is also less than five minute's walk to all of the bars and restaurants of Marina Del Rey. Whether you just want to relax on the beach or use this place as a base to explore L.A. in general (we did both), the location is perfect.

The roof terrace is beautiful - the views are superb and it's an ideal place to relax with a glass of wine (there's no bar, so you have to buy it elsewhere). The breakfast was also excellent, plenty of choice and seemingly decent quality, unlike other hotels I have used in the U.S. They also had tea making facilities available all day at the breakfast counter, which for a British traveller is an absolute godsend.

The cleanliness of the place cannot be faulted. Some hotels are cleaned well, and some are cleaned meticulously. This place falls firmly into the latter category. Granted, the maid service seemed a little slow at times (our room still hadn't been cleaned by 3pm some days), but the result was clear to see as the room couldn't possibly have been any cleaner. You could actually do a 'white glove' examination of the room. It was spotless.

I had read reviews on TripAdvisor and Yelp which made reference to the manager being unhelpful and unfriendly. I find this to be a nonsense. The manager was very helpful and very personable. He seems to live in the property, so probably doesn't take too kindly to people misbehaving or being disrespectful to the place. Perhaps this explains these negative reviews.

As this hotel was so characterful and I enjoyed my stay so much, it's hard to pick out anything which I would describe as a negative point. If anything, it would benefit from air conditioning as leaving the window open resulted in a little bit of noise from revellers walking along the beachfront outside. But that's about it. I've already tried to book again for next year, but this place seems to be the only one in the area that fills up nearly a year in advance. If you can get a room here, grab it with both hands and see what all the fuss is about.

Room Tip: The 'sea view' rooms cost more, and they will also be noisier as they face out onto the busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raydar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#59 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#12 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#14 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#230 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice On The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice On The Beach Hotel

Property: Venice On The Beach Hotel
Address: 2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#81 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Venice On The Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased that you are considering the truly only Ocean Front Boutique Hotel in Venice California. Our Hotel is conveniently located between Santa Monica and Marina del Rey. We have Flat Screen TV, Refrigerators and Microwaves in each of our rooms. All the rooms are individual and well appointed with amenities that will always under promise and over deliver for you. Parking is very limited, we have a total of 8 parking spaces for guests to use, and they are done by reservation only. If there is no parking available, our front desk staff will be happy to assist you in finding free public parking in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Venice On The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Venice On The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing