We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and comfortable ON the beach!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Ranked #55 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you like european B& Bs and love the bech, this one's for you.
Determined to find an affordable hotel on the beach for a quick 2 day trip to LA, I somehow lucked out and found this place. Most beachfront is very pricy but this has all the ambiance and is quite affordable. Right On the beach, this little hotel has it all. The rooms are very practical with all the ammenities one expects..(& the water pressure just about blew me out of the shower!!!). The front desk is open until 9or 10 (can't remember) but with advance notification, they give yiu the code to get in and get to your room. The free continental breakfast is just right to get started and you can take it up to an observation deck and watch the beach life in action (always interesting!!) The wharf and main aea are right at your doorstep as well as the beach and bike/walkways.It is also a convenient drive to LA and the freeways. One could also walk forever down the beachfront pathways and get right to Santa Monica for a good hike/bike. Bike rentals are right there also.
About the only downsides are the parking and the beach "local residents". The locals have taken up much of the bench areas and live quietly amongst themselves. I don"t beleive they are dangerous in any way but it is worth noting for late night walks. Also the late night beach scene is rather busy on weekend nights and can get rowdy. Parking is the one factor I found troublesome as I arrived late one night and couldn't get the limited parking spaces at the hotel. One must park on a nearby street and walk which is a little unsettling for a single woman,but I never felt threatened as there were alot of people out then. However, on Mon AM, the streets are cleaned and one must move or be ticketed. I didn"t read the fine print from the hotel brochure and got nabbed for $75. There are limited spaces in front of the hotel, all taken by evening. Also, there is no AC so if the rare heatwave comes, it is worth being prepared. The ocean breeze should help out though.
All in all , this is a great bargain for the money . Just reserve early as it is a popular "under the radar"place.

Room Tip: Go for bechfront...its worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank perWarrenton_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 553 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Awsome place to stay if you are in LA. The hotel is right next to the beach, a short walk from the strip and far enough from the noise of Venice beach. The hotel is well looked after, the room are a decent size for a couple and it has a roof top where you can hang out and relax in the sun. Service was exceptional and better than some big hotel chains out there i've stayed in. Greg the manager will go above and beyond to make your stay a great one and he will help you with anything you need. Will definitely go back when i go back to LA.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AdiAnn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and at home. Greg was the manager per se & had tips on hand for anything and everything. The location is perfect. The roof-top terrace a dream for people who do not live on the ocean, very clean, breakfast sufficient and fair priced. We will be back!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My hubby and I stayed here in August 2012. The hotel itself was great, we had a good side room on the bottom floor which was nice and bright with big windows. Location is fabulous to the beach and the Venice beach boardwalk. Breakfast was great.
Having said all this I really wasn't a fan of Venice Beach itself... I found it to be quite cheap and nasty.
I wouldn't return here again - simply as I wouldn't leave LAX via anything other than a plane! Instead I'd go elsewhere in the US.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbbsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful 5 nights back in Jan 2013. From the moment I arrived I liked the vibe. It's a cute building right on the beach and Greg - The Manager - gave the best meet and greet show around the place I've ever encountered. His customer service throughout our stay was fantastic.

Our room was great, we took a smaller room to get a better view but the bed and shower were fantastic and this place is amazing value for money.

Would I stay here again, most definitely, I really hope to!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LegendofMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

After searching for hours on the Internet we found this gem! Very pleased with it and it was an amazing price!

Good points: free parking (they don't specify online however that there are 17 rooms, and only 8free parking spaces outside!) parking wasn't a problem for us thou, and when we arrived a few hours before check in they let us keep our car there, likewise after check out. The staff are super helpful- if you need directions or anything they will print things out for you. Amenities of this hotel; computer desk upstairs with free Internet and free printing (so can do boarding passes amongst other things which is helpful!), a library of books is also available, the complimentary breakfast was really really good- bagels to die for! NOM! Lots of cereal, bagels, jams and spreads, fresh orange juice, milk, teas and coffees, fresh fruit- bananas, apples, and oranges! The roof terrace was nice, saw sunset on our last day which was a nice touch. Free wifi. Literally on the beach. If your driving its off the busy areas so feel safe leaving your car. It is within walking distance of attractions, our first day we walked to Santa Monica Pier which was a fantastic day. Venice beach is nice! Oh, complimentary toiletries too! Plus, microwave and fridge in the rooms- nice!


Bad points: there's not many- just the Internet is very slow and intermittent. Watch out for the ants- our first morning we had about 100 in our room all in a line- just make sure you don't have opened sweet things about! (Fruit juice/wine glasses we put it down to-maybe should have rinsed them after use!!). Also, a sign on entrance mentioned about carcinogenic substances in the establishment- we only stayed a couple of nights so didn't worry, I may have asked for more details had it been longer! Our room was also a bit short on floor space, two suitcases could just about fit!

Overall- staff awesome, location you couldn't get better, price was amazingly good.

Would I come back? Yes!
Would I recommend this place? Definitely.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

On the boardwalk in Venice...super location, really clean and nice staff. We actually poked through Hotels.com on a non refundable rate and they let us move at the last minute which was so awesome! It is not a 5 star hotel but it is 5star value...would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nolanbolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 355 in Los Angeles
796 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#95 of 355 in Los Angeles
521 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#259 of 355 in Los Angeles
694 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,419 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice On The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice On The Beach Hotel

Address: 2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291-4311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#80 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $181 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Venice On The Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased that you are considering the truly only Ocean Front Boutique Hotel in Venice California. Our Hotel is conveniently located between Santa Monica and Marina del Rey. We have Flat Screen TV, Refrigerators and Microwaves in each of our rooms. All the rooms are individual and well appointed with amenities that will always under promise and over deliver for you. Parking is very limited, we have a total of 8 parking spaces for guests to use, and they are done by reservation only. If there is no parking available, our front desk staff will be happy to assist you in finding free public parking in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Venice On The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Venice On The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing