We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venice On The Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Ranked #57 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“On the beach!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a very quaint, comfortable Hotel. The bed was super soft and the ocean view room was well worth the price. Nice outdoor shared patio to relax on or an upstairs deck as well. The manager Greg very nice and helpful. Next time I am in L.A. I will stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    175
    39
    17
    23
See reviews for
59
249
46
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My sister n law and I stayed here for a week and it was fantastic. Greg made us feel welcome from when we first arrived. His hotel is located right next on the Water Front by the Pier, it was peaceful, the maid service is excellent, continental breakfast every morning. All the shops are right there. Muscle Beach and Santa Monica Pier are in walking distance as well as the famous Venice Canals. We were able to shop, eat and relax in peace. While there we were able to see the Whales migrating, dolphins and seal lions. Greg your the best!! Thank you and I highly recommend your Hotel to everyone!! We are back in Alaska now and believe me, we wish we were still right there in Room 14!

Room Tip: Our room was located in the middle of the top floor but there is a top balcony that is always open t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leta-Mae-Gannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I flew in from London and stayed at the Hotel this Christmas for about ten nights with my Son.
It has lots of things going for it and I honestly can't think of any draw backs, I have listed the best features below;

Great location, right on the beach, you can hear the surf pounding at night- Perfectly placed for walks along the Venice Beach Boardwalk, lots of good local restaurants. It was quiet enough to sleep yet close enough to the bars and shops that you had lots of palces to visit
Friendly knowledgable and helpful Greg (Manager)
Excellent Buffet Breakfast (Bagels, Cheese, Jams,Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Teas, Coffee)
Roof Top Terrace for lounging and people watching
Modern In room flat screen Television and Satellite System that was easy to operate
In room fridge sink/wet bar area and microwave (Not sure they all have this)
Good, thourough maid service every day
Free computer in reception for use and free Wi-Fi
Lending Library of Books and Magazines
Quality bedding and pillows!

Mail me if you have a question!


Free Parking

Room Tip: Ask Greg when you book, I suspect the ones at the front are premium, we had a roon with two queen be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FordyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

This place is good if you can get a good desk on it. It's right on the beach, minutes to 30 restaurants and has free parking so has a lot going for it.

We wanted to be near the airport and its only a 15min drive so perfect.

Only bad things are room size is really small and there is no furniture, so nowhere to sit and nowhere to put anything on like a cup of coffee!
Breakfast there's nowhere to eat (I think) we are in the room but its tricky without furniture. I'm sure in summer you could eat on the upstairs deck or downstairs patio. Both great spots.

All in all pretty good if you can get a good price oh and the beds are soon comfy!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uk_dazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

A fantastic little hotel right on the beach. Greg, the manager met us and knew our names as we walked in the door as we had a few travel issues and had emailed ahead to let him know we would be in a day late. Personal service++. He showed us our room and the facilities and assisted us with transport and attractions. We had a fridge and microwave in our room, which seems to be rare in the US, we are used to at least a fridge in standard Aussie hotel rooms. The room was quaint and clean, great value and a good continental breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This isn't a luxury hotel and the room was a bit rough but totally minor points compared to all the plus points. Right on the beach with an amazing rooftop deck, felt like we were in heaven watching the sunset over the ocean. The help yourself brekkie was a nice touch and convenient. The hotel is right in the middle of the action, close to a few fantastic restaurants and the eclectic Venice beach. Plus to get free parking was a huge bonus. This place has a cool laid back feel and really added a lot to our first experience of LA, am really glad we choose it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbabe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Let me start by saying you are in Los Angeles, expensive hotels and for the most paid parking! But if you still can find a affordable hotel on the perfect location (right on Venice Beach) you should be very happy. Venice on the beach is a small cosy hotel with small rooms (nicely decorated) but oke just for sleeping. Parking is an issue as many has written before, There are limited spaces behind the building and you get a parking pass (so you don't have to pay) from the hotel. But this is no quarantee you actually get a spot. I believe this is being said on several websites so quests can expect having to drive around and find a paid parking place. The hotel is situated right on Venice board walk and has a terrace just in front of the hotel and on the roof top. Spectacular views on the ocean! Just a short walk from the hotel to Venice Pier, shops, bars and restaurants. I would absolutely recommend this hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights in september 2011.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockieNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#55 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#17 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#12 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#226 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice On The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice On The Beach Hotel

Property: Venice On The Beach Hotel
Address: 2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291-4311
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#37 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#82 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Venice On The Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased that you are considering the truly only Ocean Front Boutique Hotel in Venice California. Our Hotel is conveniently located between Santa Monica and Marina del Rey. We have Flat Screen TV, Refrigerators and Microwaves in each of our rooms. All the rooms are individual and well appointed with amenities that will always under promise and over deliver for you. Parking is very limited, we have a total of 8 parking spaces for guests to use, and they are done by reservation only. If there is no parking available, our front desk staff will be happy to assist you in finding free public parking in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Venice On The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Venice On The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing