We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Small cosy hotel on a perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Venice On The Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Ranked #48 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small cosy hotel on a perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Let me start by saying you are in Los Angeles, expensive hotels and for the most paid parking! But if you still can find a affordable hotel on the perfect location (right on Venice Beach) you should be very happy. Venice on the beach is a small cosy hotel with small rooms (nicely decorated) but oke just for sleeping. Parking is an issue as many has written before, There are limited spaces behind the building and you get a parking pass (so you don't have to pay) from the hotel. But this is no quarantee you actually get a spot. I believe this is being said on several websites so quests can expect having to drive around and find a paid parking place. The hotel is situated right on Venice board walk and has a terrace just in front of the hotel and on the roof top. Spectacular views on the ocean! Just a short walk from the hotel to Venice Pier, shops, bars and restaurants. I would absolutely recommend this hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights in september 2011.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockieNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    181
    41
    17
    23
See reviews for
63
260
47
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel for the last 4 days of our San Fran to LA roadtrip and it was the perfect way to finish of our holiday.
When we arrived the sun was just setting right over the Venice Beach Pier which made it impossible to NOT get a beach view room so we ended up paying a little bit extra than we had planned.
The room was a bit on the small side but was very clean and newly decorated with an OK-sized bathroom. We would have to say for the price per night was worth it for location.
Breakfast was good with all the usual small hotel trimmings only we would liked to have not had disposable cups, plates and bowls.
Greg (the owner) is full of local information and was very helpful to provide maps/route planners. The only thing he didn't do for us was clean our windows outside as promised when we arrived.
All in all we would recommend Venice On The Beach Hotel and hope to stay there again soon.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank C124MAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Hotel is located right on the beach! Great outdoor gated patio - Great rooftop deck! I was wishing I had brought my girl! C'mon man what else do you need! Greg, the owner was an incredibly down to earth cool dude! Just like all the locals! All the restaurants were just steps way
- the beach was right there in front of you! For a dude from Aspen - it was absolute Heaven!!
I jogged from Venice Pier to Santa Monica Pier and the scenery is out of this world - between the
ocean and the Bohemians! Screw the chains and let your hair down and enjoy Greg's laid back cool place right on the beach - Venice On The Beach Hotel is a Five Star Resort in my book!

Room Tip: You gotta spend the extra for the ocean view! Live a little!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bmanf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Situated just on venice beach, it was perfect for our short stay. Continental breakfast of bagels, cereal and fruit is included. Great sitting area outside and on roof top where you can enjoy the view of the beach on your door step. Rooms are smallish but have big showers, and flat screen TVs.coffee available during the day. The girl checking us in was so unhelpful and seemed like she didn't really care, although the manager was the opposite and very nice. Overall I'd recommend this hotel if you want to stay near venice beach.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Perfectly located at the quiet end of the Venice boardwalk. Can't beat the location or the view from the upstairs deck or downstairs patio. Room is clean and equipped with everything you may need. Comfortable beds. Furnishings and decor are average. Nothing amazing or luxurious. Bathroom was a bit dingy (no light reached the shower). Appreciated the free and convenient parking.
Breakfast counter in the hall is a nice touch, but the coffee needs improvement. Seriously bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sequoialit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Found this on the Net, a great find, right on the beach literally, the boardwalk is out the back door. Had a room on the ground floor, we could hear the waves. Friendly welcome from Greg, helped get us sorted and gave tips about the locality. A good walk to the pier. Good eateries just a minutes walk away, reasonable and tasty. An hour's bus to The Grove (not so good) but only about 20 minutes to Fifth Street Promenade (much better actually than the Grove esp on Wednesdays with the street market). Room comfortable and clean, bed FANTASTIC, slept really well. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try if possible to get beach facing room, upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hana23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is really a secret to be kept, actually. It is more than a boutique hotel. The theme is so lovely, manager Greg and his assistant are so kind, room was excellent, clean and tidy. And the Ocean view rooms which we have stayed are just perfect. The neighborhood is also safe, been outside for evening walks and the people around seemed just safe :) .

During our USA visit, we supposed to stay in LA just for two days and according to a friend of us who lived in LA for a while, we are recommended to stay around the Venice Beach , so I have checked tripadvisor for a value place for young couples as we are, and found this hotel, thank God. It is also possible to park your car, free of charge, by the parking places, even if you could not there are plenty of other public parking places around.

We had to chek in late, I mean around 11pm at night, talked to Greg about it and everything was OK when arrived to the hotel.

Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: try to stay in an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tankut E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#61 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#15 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#13 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#230 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice On The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice On The Beach Hotel

Property: Venice On The Beach Hotel
Address: 2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#81 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Venice On The Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased that you are considering the truly only Ocean Front Boutique Hotel in Venice California. Our Hotel is conveniently located between Santa Monica and Marina del Rey. We have Flat Screen TV, Refrigerators and Microwaves in each of our rooms. All the rooms are individual and well appointed with amenities that will always under promise and over deliver for you. Parking is very limited, we have a total of 8 parking spaces for guests to use, and they are done by reservation only. If there is no parking available, our front desk staff will be happy to assist you in finding free public parking in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Venice On The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Venice On The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing