We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic German”
Review of Red Lion Tavern

Red Lion Tavern
Ranked #979 of 10,030 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic German”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Having missed Oktoberfest I was delighted to enjoy an Oktoberfest beer still on tap and equally delighted to pig out on a sausage sampler that was too much for two people. All for a reasonable price. The service was great and the atmosphere friendly. There are a lot of areas you can sit that make for a different experience, the patio is open and casual, there is an upstairs bar area that is a little more cozy and confined and a downstairs bar that is a little more open and has table seating. I was meeting someone but had no hesitation about going in ahead alone and taking a seat, so I would have no problem recommending it for a female traveling alone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 22Catbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    36
    16
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love this bar, it's casual, has nice patio seating and delicious sausage platter. Beers are great and we always have a good time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HulaPris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Delicious and Excellent”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went here for the first time with some friends visiting from out of town. Food was delicious, ordered the beef tartare and shared a boot with 2 friends. My server was friendly and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this spot!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“DAS BOOTS”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is all about Germany: authentic food, beer, ambiance and it is pretty good. The food is simple, but delicious: sausages, schnitzels, red cabbage, potato and with lots of beer and music you'll experience Bavaria like evening ( no need to cross Atlantic Ocean) Nice location too-- Silver Lake -- home of hipsters, artists and celebrities.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food, service, and ambience!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is no BS German. The owner is from Germany and greeted us personally. We sat on the patio and really enjoyed the cool breezes and fountain. The beer is German, drought, cold, and delicious. The food is even more amazing. Go for the sausage platter and potato pancake. The apple streusel is the best I have ever had. On top of that, the service was amazing. Great spot!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SouthernAZTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Tavern also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Red Lion Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing