We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and excellent to boot”

Kendall’s Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
Kendall’s Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #379 of 10,030 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: First St.
Description: Kendall's Brasserie and Bar at The Los Angeles Music Center is a fine dining French restaurant featuring fine wines, cocktails & oyster bar in downtown LA.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient and excellent to boot”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We parked, walked right in to pick up our reservation at Kendalls, dined on scrumptious dinners and then walked the block to Disney Hall. It all made for a lovely evening

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    66
    28
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“excellent food, atmosphere and location.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wanted a restaurant close to the Ahmenson. This is located just at street level next to the Ahmenson so it fit the bill. Very nice restaurant, excellent service and personal care . We both enjoyed the Beef short rib with excellent spinich and garlic mashed potatoes. we started with Escorgote and salad and finished with a cheese flight. Great wine and atmoshere. very nice size servings and everything prepared just right. The bill totaled $140.00 so thats not too bad with the wine, escorgot and cheese flight as well. Short rib plated were only around $20.00. We has read that this restaurant was a little pricey, I can disagree as they have many options to fit most pocketbooks. We travel to France quiet often and the cheeses here were just as tasty and fresh as the Normandy Coast. Thanks for a great start to a great evening at the play.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchall m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My mom and her theater group always come here before they see a show at the Ahmanson, which is next door and part of the Dorothy Chandler-Mark Taper-Ahmanson Music Center complex in downtown L.A. Full of heavy wood and displays of wine bottles, this French restaurant comes complete with Francophone waiters and is stately (some might say a little stuffy) with, of course, an extensive wine list. The chestnut soup of the day was somewhat creamy and woodsy, the Quiche Lorraine was excellent and cooked perfectly, and the mixed green salad has a tangy house dressing with lots of interesting vegetable garnishes. The waitress had a really hard time sorting out the three checks we requested and had to redo them twice, but otherwise, we had a lovely lunch. As others have noted, the bathroom situation is not at all ideal, but overall we were pleased with our experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to eat at the Music Center”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This Patina branded restaurant has gone through several re-modelings over the years and it has improved each time. Food is excellent; service is impeccable. The menu is always fresh with a nice, but not huge, variety of dishes. It is an excellent place for seafood and has an oyster bar. Dishes are often unique, yet there is comfort food as well as more exotic fare.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacques C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never a Disappointment”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have eaten here many times and am never ever disappointed. The food, the service, the ambiance and the location are perfection. It is perfect if you are attending an event at Disney as they can get your food in enough time for the performance. If you just get drinks at the bar the cocktails are excellent. Being here reminds me of some of the restaurants I ate at in Paris. This is one of my favorite places in Los Angeles.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kendall’s Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Kendall’s Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing