We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pancakes Around”

Du-par's Restaurant & Bakery
Ranked #195 of 9,898 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Description: Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Great outdoor patio, award winning pancakes. Late night diner. Beat the Clock dinner special. For more than seven decades, Du-par’s has been a part of the LA coffee shop tradition, serving millions their famous breakfasts and fresh fruit pies. Other Locations: Studio City, CADowntown Las Vegas, NVPoint Loma, CA
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Pancakes Around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Well known restaurant especially famous for its pancakes and pies. There are a few branches, but consensus is that DuPar's at the farmer's market is a little better than the others. A short stack is plenty for all but the most hungry of eaters. The pancakes are simply outstanding. Perhaps the best buttermilk pancakes I have ever tasted. If your tastes run to sourdough then go to the Original Pancake House. Both are much better than IHOP -- although IHOP isn't bad.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TominLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    61
    18
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Pie and Donuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Although Bob's at the Farmer's Market gets the donut biz--the better donuts (glazed) are at DuPars. I loved their banana cream pie and had it twice---working out harder now that I am back home to take off the added weight.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Average Coffee Shop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

I have been going to Dupars for years when visiting the Farmers Market. It was always a decent place for breakfast but I have noticed that the food has not been as good for the past several years. I now just go into the Farmers Market and eat there. The food is better in the Market anyways.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alanmhersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A generally reliable place to get a good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

If you're in the LA "original" farmer's market, Dupar's is one of a great many good choices for places to eat, but it may be the best choice if the weather is not cooperating because it is indoors. It is a pretty old style kind of place with a traditional and large menu, but this is fine if you're not fussy for something trendy or unique. I had missed lunch on a cool day in LA and needed to eat something late in the afternoon. I went into Dupar's and sat in a sunny booth and took advantage of their early bird anniversary special; a choice of a limited number of entrees, but priced according to the time ordered -- unusual. I had a very nice roast chicken with roasted potatoes and fresh sauteed vegetables for -- get this -- $4.15; the time of day I placed my order. You won't always get this deal, but you will get lots of choice, and a freshly prepared meal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PogoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best pancakes in town! Slooooooooow service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I've been eating at DuPars for years, they have the best buttermilk pancakes in town. If you want to be seated quickly (and on a weekend) get there early. After 10am there will be a wait. As far as the food goes, I don't think I've ever orderd anything other than the pancakes and eggs - all are great. The downside of the place is the slow service, the last couple times there has been a severe shortage of waitresses. We saw only two waitresses for the entire place, including outside. If you're not in a hurry and don't mind waiting forever for coffee refills then you may like DuPars. If you get bent out of shape when waitstaff doesn't fuss over you then you'll hate it there.

The great pancakes saved them from a three star review!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LongBeachJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Du-par's Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Du-par's Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing