We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good and cheap” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pa Ord Noodles

Pa Ord Noodles
Ranked #572 of 9,854 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Hollywood
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty good and cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Just finished dinner here. Good pad Thai and pad se ew. Small, fairly plain interior but solid meal for very reasonable price.

Helpful?
Thank Ldeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Uninspiring store front hides culinary treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Walking down Sunset Bld, we looked for somewhere to have lunch. I consulted the TA Los Angeles APP and we were directed to this very ordinary looking place. I was surprised to note it was so highly rated, but as I love Thai food I decided to try it out anyway.
Well, the food was superb... fresh and tasty with a complete range of those flavours that characterise Thai cuisine. The service was super fast as well.
I don't suppose this is a place for a romantic dinner or a special celebration, but if you're after genuine Thai food, then this is surely the best place outside of Thailand!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chaucer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the best thai restaurants in LA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

While I was on business in LA, I've been to this small, humble restaurant 4 times. This shows how much I love their food here. I've been eating Thai since I was a kid so I'm no stranger to good Thai food. This was nothing fancy but it does have savory, authentic flavor from Thailand. I was very impressed how fast they get the plates to tables with restaurant full and take-out orders but they do. Also, the portion is generous for the price you're paying.
The lunch menu is what really most economic, even for duck as a choice, even for under $9. Amazing. You have a choice of chicken, beef, pork or duck and a choice of style (spicy thai basil, garlic pepper, spicy green bean). I had duck in spicy thai basil and beef in green bean. Simply delicious.
I went back another evening Sizzling Seafood with rice. Wow, generous amount of prawns and mussels, hot and spicy as it comes on the table. Wonderful dish. And another dish Pad See We noodle dish, so flavorful, beef very tender and chinese broccoli, crispy.
I wish I had more time to try their other dishes but I know I'm come back for it next time in town.
As for the service, Lek was very nice, always attentive as other staff, always smiling. Lek was helpful in making suggestions to your taste. Love this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sqwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spicy Thai Food from Thai People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I frequent this restaurant, as well as its sister restaurant (Ord Noodles II in Panorama City). They both serve up the same menu of delicious Thai soups and noodle dishes.

I am often the only non-Asian patron at the Panorama City location, and the operators at both locations are all Thai (presumably a good sign when seeking out authentic regional cuisine). Menu items range from $5-$10 per dish, service is casual and quick. They generally do not mess around with spice levels, as even a "mild" spice request can leave some sweat on your brow. So if you bring kids, make sure they can handle the heat! Fortunately, they're pretty good about keeping your water glass filled.

You have the option of choosing from four noodles when you order soup:

- Very thin rice noodle
- Small flat rice noodle
- Wide flat rice noodle
- Ramen style noodle

For a clear broth soup with bright and vibrant flavors and lots of variety, I recommend the #5 soup with #2 noodles. For a sweeter more savory deeply spiced taste, the Roast Duck soup is fantastic. From the rest of the menu, Pad Thai and the Crispy Pork with Holy Basil are also standouts. The Thai iced tea and coffee are sweet, rich, delicious and a welcome respite if you order a dish with maximum spiciness.

The bottom line is, if you like Thai food, you should give this place a try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geothrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachse, Texas
Level Contributor
510 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Great Taste!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My family of four visited Pa Ord in December while on vacation. We tried noodle and dishes. The foods were great. The noodles were spicy and hot. I ordered a rice dish with no pepper. The price was low. We ordered foods to go to eat our hotel. The restaurant was small and we had to wait 30 minutes outside for lunch. Another problem was the small parking lot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BangkokSachse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pa Ord Noodles also viewed

 

Been to Pa Ord Noodles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing