We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tasty neighbourhood vietnamese” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Hen Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blue Hen Restaurant
Ranked #6,233 of 9,846 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“tasty neighbourhood vietnamese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Really friendly laid back spot. Great for a tasty midweek treat when cooking dinner doesn't sound too much like fun..!
(Pity it's not open for lunch too)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank salsoul78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    0
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kimberly, Idaho
Level Contributor
261 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“ho-hum, ho-hum”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

food taste suspiciously pre-cooked and just warmed up, not cooked to order. Very disappointing since it was reviewed by LA Weekly which we thought was credible and reliable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3Kells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find - Well recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Pure chance that we came across this place and glad that we did after a big day of sightseeing across LA. So here we go; this is a straightforward clean simple cafe/restaurant serving homely vietnamese / SE asian food. Decor is modern, bright, and up-beat. Really sorry I don't have the details of the menu to hand, but we ordered a mix of noodles, curries and side orders. This place rates one of the best we ate at over the course of a 3 week trip. Why? Fresh, well cooked tasty food served with good service.

I suspect (and hope) this place will gain an increasing local customer base - it certainly seemed like it's becoming a popular place. If you wanted an introduction to vietnamese cuisine, this'd be a good place to go / take your friends or family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WinchesterBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great place for all your friends to meet.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a wonderful little restaurant, primarily Asian food, good variety. The service is good, the decor is plain. It is not a fancy place, but it is really fun to meet with your friends and share from the menu. Portions are generous and very tasty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DT1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Hen Restaurant also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Blue Hen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing