We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and food”

The Grill on Hollywood
Ranked #509 of 10,090 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Hollywood
Cross street: Highland
Transit: Metro: Hollywood & Highland
Hudson Oaks, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This semi-upscale eatery was fun! Super bar staff, efficient friendly wait-staff. Very elegant drinks expertly crafted.
Not a Bar and Grill

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    99
    23
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for dinner”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Seven of us went to The Grill. I had the rib eye steak, which was excellent. Three had the salmon, also reported as excellent. Drinks were substantial. Service was very attentive. Our waiter knew all of the details of the menu.

Parking at Hollywood & Highland is validated, but there may still be a slight charge.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalTraveler91356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Surprising find at the Kodak/Dolby Mall on Hollywood Blvd”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We ambled into "The Grill" before a movie and were very surprised by the quality of the cocktails, the meal, and the service. We were waited on by Beth, who provided top-notch service: always ready to help and answer questions but never intrusive. The Manhattans with Woodford Reserve were excellent (so much so that we had seconds). They offer a gluten free menu, and the chilean sea bass was fantastic, as were the crabcakes. Oh, not to forget, they even know how to make a caesar salad and they use anchovy and garlic like we always wish for. The ambiance was very nice, too. A totally unexpected find in the middle of a large, commercial mall. We were sorry that we had lived nearby previously for three years and never thought to try it out. The Grill is one of the best places we've tried in Los Angeles in a long time. If you're on the walk of fame or at or near Grauman's Chinese, The Grill is easy to find. Give it a shot, and ask for Beth's section.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhb1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very good, especially after a concert”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great place to go after a concert. Have enjoyed it many times - excellent and attentive service, very good food, good drinks/wine list. Very enjoyable, and open late.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good place for location”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Located on the 4th floor, food was good for the price. Steak was a bit over done but spinach garlic potatoes were wonderful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TriciaLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill on Hollywood also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to The Grill on Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing