We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The short ribs are a must!”

The Grill on Hollywood
Ranked #467 of 9,979 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Hollywood
Cross street: Highland
Transit: Metro: Hollywood & Highland
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
189 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“The short ribs are a must!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My friend and I stopped by as the Californian sun warmed up, and we felt like spoiling ourselves on a sunny afternoon.
Here the service was friendly, informative, and efficient. The food was cooked perfectly, and served in the right order - something which a lot of American resturants arn't particularly good at.
I cannot fault any of the dishes or the wine choice by our charming waiter.
The quality of the food topped what was a really pleasant experience, and whilst the food here is not cheap by any means, what they serve is of the highest quality. That at the end of the day, is what I seek more than anything. And in this case it was forthcoming.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    99
    23
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Thrill of the Grill”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The grill is an institution. Great and ample steaks and chops are wondefully prepared. Service is quick and efficient. Danny the Manager is a gem. The guy knows what the word "hospitality" means. Our experience was memorable. We will be back the next time we want to rub elbows with the stahhhhs.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank marc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great service mediocre food”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The setting is lovely, old fashioned but I suppose that is the point. The service was great but the food was a bit of a let down only slightly though. Our steak was like eating a shoe.

Great atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leylahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
236 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We loved this restaurant. We sat outside by the railing, great for people watching. Great holiday music was been playing, lots of tourists and people shopping and eating on the several restaurants around. We order two different salads and wine. The fish was incredible and fresh. The server was very attentive and had super people skills. They do have a Gluten Free Menu, as well. The Manager came by to also check up on us. They serve an amazing bread that is out of this world. We are looking forward to returning. Happy New Year!

Helpful?
Thank MJ778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great food, service, atmosphere and a separate glutten free menu which was excellent for me.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill on Hollywood also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to The Grill on Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing