We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Indian Food near LAX” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tandoor A India Restaurant

Tandoor A India Restaurant
Ranked #3,029 of 9,846 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Westside
Description: Best indian food near LAX. Order directly from our website site for faster delivery
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food near LAX”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I ate here three times while in the area on business. Very small restaurant in Playa del Rey which looks like a converted house. Food was well prepared and authentic. I experienced prompt service (usually around 8 in the evening), but with only one waiter, I can see why some other reviewers have complained about slow service when they are busy. Parking is also a challenge due to their location. I really hope that they move into a larger and more accessible location someday as their food is worth the visit. They do a large volume of pickup and delivery orders so you can call in if you choose. Only five minutes to LAX, if you are overnighting and craving Indian food. I have tried most all of the Indian restaurants from the Marina freeway south to Redondo Beach and this one gets my vote as the best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank merlot1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California City, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Overall - Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I loved everything about this place. The restaurant is built on a hillside with a very steep driveway up to a small parking lot. (Lots of parking on the street) Split into two separate dining areas with the kitchen in between, the inside was just adorable! We ate upstairs.

The wait staff doesn't work specific tables, but all work together to provide fast and very friendly service. We were extremely impressed with all the employees.

We asked the waiter who came to take our order for suggestions and he didn't skip a beat in telling us what to get. We had Lamb Tikka Masala and Shrimp Vindaloo (Succulent-cooked to perfection !!) with Basmati Rice and Plain Naan, Garlic Naan and Naan Paratha. Just writing this review makes me want to go back and eat there. Its was all very tasty!

Highly recommend !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Off2SeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quick Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We located Tandoor A India Restaurant through the GPS locator - pleasantly surprised that it was hardly a couple of miles away from our place. Had an awesome quick lunch - very much Indian. The staff were very courteous - even spoke to one of us in Hindi!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vithupar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester VA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A lot of mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was a disappointment. They served much more food than most Indian restaurants, and the wait staff was friendly, but the vindaloo was too sweet and tomatoey and not very hot. Other spicy dishes were bland. This was Indian food for those who don't know what to order. The place looked shabby.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank themajortraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Within walking distance of our hotel and the food was good. The tandoor shrimp was spicy and delicious. Loved the lentils and naan as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoor A India Restaurant also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Tandoor A India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing