We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chao Krung Thai Restaurant

Chao Krung Thai Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Chao Krung Thai Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,051 of 9,848 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Modesto
Level Contributor
116 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

About thirty years ago, I worked at a facility across the street from Chao Krung, so I had lunch there at least three times a week for years. My favorite was Pad Thai with chicken. Oh, so delicious. As I have since moved away, I make it a point to visit when I come to town.. They have an extensive menu, something for everyone. The chicken is very good, as is everything I have tried over the years. The service is good, but not always friendly. I know they used to have a lunch buffet. I'm not sure if they still do, since I now order take out for dinner. I wasn't too impressed when I did have the buffet. Lots of rice and noodles, very little meat, but still very flavorful. I recommend Chao Krung. Very good Thai food!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank birdie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Staff, Lovely Food, Lovely Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

a little price but the food hits all the right notes. The staff was very attentive, making us feel welcome at all times. The angel wings were huge- what kind of chicken was that- and very tasty!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank latool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, good wine, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants in LA and definitely my favorite Thai food. The food is very reasonably price and delicious, the wine selection is better than your average Thai restuarant, the servers are all very courteous and wear really pretty traditional garb, and there is a really great (so cheesy it actually works) mural of Bangkok on the wall that glows. My favorite dishes here are the various curries, the BBQ chicken, the spring rolls, and the Pad Thai. Parking is generally pretty easy to find at the meters on Fairfax.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank idontwaitinline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“HORRIFIC!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We waited for 2 hours on delivery food!

Initially was told delivery time would be around an hour. Wasn't thrilled, but I decided to be patient. It was a Friday night, after all.

After calling tons of times and was promised it was on the way. Spoke with a different person every time. After waiting patiently they called and said my order had been cancelled. Absurd!

They actually argued with me and were saying I had cancelled my own order. Why would I keep calling to find out where my order is if I was canceling it?

They were completely unapologetic, argumentative, and extremely rude.

IDIOTS!

NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER GO TO CHAO KRUNG!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JGCBAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Thai food outside of Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We found this place by accident and it was wonderful. We had a lychee martini which was excellent, as a starter we had waterfall beef wrap, really fresh flavours, very delicious and good portion size, followed by a Thai green curry.
Now this is my favourite dish and I often rate a restaurant based only on the quality of this dish. I've been to Thailand about 6 times and I love green curry. The green curry here was very very authentic, the closest I've come to a Bangkok curry outside of Thailand. Service was great and waitress very friendly.

Would 100% recommend this place,

Enjoy

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank docirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chao Krung Thai Restaurant also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Chao Krung Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing