We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being in Buenos Aires”
Review of Carlitos Gardel

Carlitos Gardel
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 12/7
8:00 PM
Ranked #123 of 12,033 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Outstanding family run business. Owners and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The decorations all have meaning to them, they just aren't pictures they found. The beef is amazing. If I closed my eyes I would have believed I was back in Argentina. Ask what special cuts they have that aren't on the menu. You won't be disappointed. Best served Argentina style with a large steak on a wooden platter in the middle of the table served family style. I'm a fan!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank GoesBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 225 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2016

A longtime local favorite, this restaurant retains it's "old school" charm while remaining fresh. It never disappoints and the ambience can't be beat with live music on Friday and Saturday nights. The restaurant fills up quickly, so make reservations if you can. Try the chicken in cream sauce with dried fruit (my favorite). The desserts are made fresh daily by the owner and are all amazing.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 28, 2016

Carlitos Gardel is one of the very few restaurants I've visited that have lived up to the hype. Their steaks are amazing, as is their signature chimichurri sauce which is made fresh daily. I tried the skirt steak, which was seasoned nicely and cooked perfectly. This is one of their signature dishes, and at 16 oz, can be split and shared. Although not obvious from the standard menu, the restaurant also offers several daily specials, usually to include lamb and some type of fish. The service was excellent and accommodating. My wife requested some type of sauce to go with her entree, and although the restaurant doesn't carry any of the commercial steak sauces, they whipped up a cabernet-mushroom-black pepper reduction that was absolutely amazing. The wine that the sommelier selected was equally outstanding. Although a bit on the pricey side, this is a place fit for foodies who appreciate great steak and service.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank shobhita864
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 28, 2016

EXCELLENT FOOD & SERVICE!!!

The 3 of us came here for lunch on Friday (the only day during the week when they're open for lunch). We had heard and read that this was one of the best Argentinian restaurants in LA so we were excited to try it. Our host/server Max was charming and accomodating. He explained the specials of the day and the different cuts of steaks. Everything sounded good!

We started with the cream of asparagus soup (hot and delicious) and the cold beef tongue salad (tender and nicely complemented with roasted red peppers and spring greens) and a beef empanada (delicious). They also brought out complimentary bread (3 large freshly baked rolls) and chimichurri sauce. Then we had main entrees of skirt steak, ribeye cap and filet mignon with marsala & mushroom reduction. All of the steaks were tender and cooked to the desired doneness. We couldn't resist the garlic fries so we shared an order of that. The fries were perfectly seasoned and not greasy at all. I couldn't stop eating the fries although I was getting full.

Although we were pretty full at this point, we couldn't pass on dessert especially when Max brought out a display platter of 4 homemade cakes and pastries. I can't remember the exact ingredients but we ordered 3 of the 4 cakes. They were brought out on individual plates and beautifully presented. We also ordered the Dulce de Leche ice cream (both the plain and the one with chocolate chips). We had coffee with our dessert and that was delicious too!

The service was excellent! Between Max and another waiter, we always had our water glasses kept full as well as coffee refills. All in all, we loved our dining experience! The restaurant is decorated beautifully and gave a cozy yet casual feeling. As a bonus, the bathrooms were very clean. This place is not cheap but the delicious food and excellent service made the cost worth it!

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SgtBuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 28, 2016 via mobile

Great argentinian restaurant in los angeles. Its a little expensive but very worth it, the steaks are soft like butter and have amazing taste. Ask for the french fries from the appetizers menu but tell the waiter to bring them with the main course, the plate is a huge mountain of fries with garlic and parleys, just delicious.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Therealtrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Carlitos Gardel also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Carlitos Gardel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.