We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”
Review of Carlitos Gardel

Carlitos Gardel
Reserve with OpenTable
Carlitos Gardel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #124 of 9,944 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Los angeles
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Wonderful restaurant. Extensive wine list and they will help in picking. Plates could be on food magazine covers. Service is top notch. Even though this is a more formal restaurant children are welcome - you can always feed them the garlic fries. Desserts are something else, a lot of dulce de leche, which if you have ever been to Argentina you know is a mainstay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OracleLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    32
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Number ONE in Los Angeles”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Went Last tuesday with my in-laws for dinner to the Carlitos Gardel. It was there first time ever.
And they enjoyed it from the beginning to the end. This restaurant is owned by a real Argentinian family and they put a lot of heart & soul into every detail.
The service is outstanding.
The food is incredible great and authentic.
The wine menu has everything you can ask for...and even more !
The atmosphere is as Argentinian as it's possible. When you would close your eyes for a second you could imagine yourself directly in San Telmo, Buenos Aires.
This place is a real oasis in L.A. and I can only recommend everyone the house made Gnocci & of course every meat plate on the menu. The garlic fries and the fish dishes are also exceptional great so it's really hard to decide what to eat.
Simple the best restaurant in L.A. !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marantz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
115 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

A very classy place, with excellent service but . . . the food just did not cut it. I ordered the branzino, which was a special, and it was lightly breaded and tasted so-so. Very disappointing, after a tasty caprese salad. My friend's food was also just ok. Disappointing after all the good reviews.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Eastonlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a small and cozy restaurant. It was recommended to me from a friend from San Francisco. I had the privilege to be served by the owner a young handsome man who helped me to choose my menu and a great dessert made by his world class chef mother. You should go and eat their food. Very nice it was far better than what I expected. VERY GOOD!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank ferefe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Argentinian Place!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Very nice skirt steak, ask fir chef's recommendation. Fits perfectly with house's Pinot Noir.

Great location. Fast service.

Helpful?
Thank Ovidiu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlitos Gardel also viewed

 

Been to Carlitos Gardel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing