We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic”
Review of Yamashiro

Yamashiro
Reserve with OpenTable
Yamashiro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #146 of 10,744 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Franklin Avenue
Transit: Metro Red Line to Hollywood & Highland. Walk west down Hollywood Blvd turn right on Orange and cross at the light on Franklin. Once you cross at the light go left and turn right at sycamore going up the hill. It is a very steep hill so walking in dress shoes or in the dark are not recommended. We suggest calling a cab at the bottom of the hill.
Description: Yamashiro - translated to "mountain palace" - broke ground in 1911 and was completed in 1914 as a residence for the Bernheimer brothers. Housing a priceless collection of Asian treasures, the building was designed as a replica of a palace located in the mountains near Kyoto, Japan. During the "Golden Age" of Hollywood, Yamashiro served as the ultra-exclusive hang-out for the "Club of the Four Hundred": the era's most famous and influential stars and movie moguls. The structure and its grounds served as a boy's military school and later apartments before being acquired in 1948 by the Thomas O. Glover, who discovered the beauty beneath the disrepair and refurbished the space. Currently owned by Thomas Y. Glover, Yamashiro is still flourishing over 60 years later as an Asian-inspired Los Angeles institution.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Yamashiro has a special place in my heart! It is where my husband and I had our first date about 32 years ago. I had never been there before, but I had heard it had a great view, and we both loved that. You wouldn't believe the panoramic view of the city! It's just beautiful, and very romantic. When you go, be sure to wait for a table by a window. We try to go back every time we visit L.A. We always order sushi, which was very good. The menu offers a variety of choices -- something for everyone. If you like to drink, this is the place for you, with their extensive wine list and drink offerings. If you want a romantic evening with your special love, this is definitely the place to go. Just bring your wallet, as it is pricey, but it's worth it for the view!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank birdie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hello,
We love to read about our guests' touching memories associated with Yamashiro. Thank you for sharing, as well as for visiting every time you and your husband are in LA. May we ask what it might take to get a fifth star? ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 366 of 736 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Amazing food along with a great view! We were lucky enough to get a seat right by the window, and coming from Magic Castle Hotel meant we even had a free shuttle up there.

Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hi Karen,

Thank you for visiting Yamashiro during your trip to LA. Isn't the partnership between Magic Castle and Yamashiro a great thing?! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great view as on top of a hill, particularly convenient if you are staying at magic castle hotel since e restaurant is right behind it. The food was only ok though, not particularly authentic, I would not go back there again.

Thank JennyToole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Jenny,
Thank you for visiting Yamashiro while staying at Magic Castle. We're sorry to hear that you were misled, as our Asian-inspired Californian cuisine is not advertised as authentic Japanese and does not aspire to be. I do hope you were able to appreciate our unique fare, though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Some people tell me that the only reason to go is really just the amazing panoramic view of pretty much the entirety of Los Angeles. It's really more than that. The food is fantastic.

I've tried almost everything on the menu (not quite close on the sushi menu though), and although certain dishes better, all of the appetizers and entrees, as well as specialty rolls are really good.

The best dishes in my opinion are Spicy Tuna on Crispy Rice, Carnitas appetizer (so tasty and packed with flavor), and the filet (quite a nice sauce).

Thank Spencer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Hi Spencer,
So great to hear that you love the food at Yamashiro almost as much as we do! Yes, the views are fantastic. Looking forward to having you again. We have some specials coming soon, such as our annual pumpkin brulee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Yamashiro is a beautiful Japanese building perched on the Hollywood hills overlooking LA. You couldn't ask for a better location. The food and service were both first class. It's a little pricey but then we had three people for $250 including Chilean wine and deserts, so not bad. Check out the courtyard which seems like it was an inspiration for Tarantino's Kill Bill scene in a Japanese garden...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for the fantastic review, Colin. Hope to see you and your friends at our "first class" restaurant the next time you're in from Toronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamashiro also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Yamashiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing