We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok”
Review of Yamashiro

Yamashiro
Reserve with OpenTable
Yamashiro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 9,953 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Franklin Avenue
Transit: Metro Red Line to Hollywood & Highland. Walk west down Hollywood Blvd turn right on Orange and cross at the light on Franklin. Once you cross at the light go left and turn right at sycamore going up the hill. It is a very steep hill so walking in dress shoes or in the dark are not recommended. We suggest calling a cab at the bottom of the hill.
Description: Yamashiro - translated to "mountain palace" - broke ground in 1911 and was completed in 1914 as a residence for the Bernheimer brothers. Housing a priceless collection of Asian treasures, the building was designed as a replica of a palace located in the mountains near Kyoto, Japan. During the "Golden Age" of Hollywood, Yamashiro served as the ultra-exclusive hang-out for the "Club of the Four Hundred": the era's most famous and influential stars and movie moguls. The structure and its grounds served as a boy's military school and later apartments before being acquired in 1948 by the Thomas O. Glover, who discovered the beauty beneath the disrepair and refurbished the space. Currently owned by Thomas Y. Glover, Yamashiro is still flourishing over 60 years later as an Asian-inspired Los Angeles institution.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“just ok”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Based on the building the valet and the fancy entrance, one would expect an outstanding Japanese restaurant. The view is great but the food is pretty mediocre. The menu is limited....
One visit was enough

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dqkitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We're sorry that your experience at Yamashiro fell short of exceptional, as we pride ourselves on serving an extensive - and diverse - menu of carefully prepared Asian-inspired Californian fare. Hopefully, you'll visit us again and taste the difference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    210
    91
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to have dinner”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Cosy place with a nice view overlooking LA. We both had the American Wagyu Steak which we found delicious although the portions were enormous compared to european standards. Our dessert consisted of a sushi platter, which contained tasty fruits and sweets formed as sushi.

We would definately go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi Jonathan,
Thank you for visiting Yamashiro while in LA and then taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We do hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's the View”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good after theater restaurant. On a clear night you feel on top of the world. We were seated at a people and view watching, requested by Open Table (100 points), window table. There were four of us. We shared black cod, CA Roll, and crispy tuna roll. The food was fresh and well prepared. Yamashiro has been in business for many years. They must be doing something right.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susitaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi Susitaa,
We're so pleased to hear how much you and your guests enjoyed the view while dining "on top of the world." Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of the BEST dinners of my life!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Hamachi appetizer with truffle oil is TO DIE FOR! We were like animals, devouring it! We were also treated to the calamari appetizer as a special treat from our incredible staff at the Magic Castle Hotel. It was not only a nice surprise but ABSOLUTELY the best calamari we've ever had. It was there one minute, gone the next. Insane food!

The Prawns entree with orzo and avocado sauce was absolutely declicious and GIGANTIC! I could not finish it, and that's saying something because I can eat! Mom had the filet and it was cooked perfectly.

The view at night is just gorgeous. We were blessed with a window-side table but pretty much all tables get the view.

The grounds and the restaurant itself are quite lovely. The decor is tasteful (feels Japanese but not over the top). The service was excellent.

I wouldn't recommend the Hibiscus specialty drink - a little too much like cough syrup for me. My sister had the cucmber mojito and it was great! Wish I would've ordered that instead!

Felt like honored guests while dining here and was blown away with the quality and preparation of our food. A++!! Will definitely return!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank flossboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to Yamashiro. We are so pleased to hear about the exceptional experience you had and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
296 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This restaurant has one of the most beautiful views in LA. The menu could be expanded for my taste but I enjoyed the entire scene and the food was pretty good as well.

Helpful?
Thank ibaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamashiro also viewed

 

Been to Yamashiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing