We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Coles

Coles
Ranked #172 of 9,898 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

this is a wonderful old bar however it has been taken over by the young and trendy. If not drinking at happy hour, the beers are expensive compared to other bars. Food was uninteresting and overpriced.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lpovolny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    47
    20
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coles”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Overpriced possers bar go to the King Eddy Saloon its less than half price and you meet real people and bartenders not actors waiting to be never discovered

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank tonynothappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
250 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

I love this place, most people prefer Phillipes but I prefer here, Plus I can get a good beer here which you cant get at Phillipes

Helpful?
Thank LA-JH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a visit to days gone by”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

this is an incredible place to visit, the bar in back a must but the food is just ok.

Helpful?
Thank Astrobratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better the philiPpes nasty sandwiches!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Just a great sandwich to sit down and enjoy a meal..inexpensive..I had the lamb and beef, my girl friend enjoyed the pork..we had a side of Mac and cheese,and pecan pie..all delicious, if I'm back in LA I would most definitely go back again!! Stay away from philiPpes they don't even compare. The meat here had flavor..philiPpes bland and cold

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Likeaboss2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coles also viewed

 

Been to Coles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing