We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Banned by the American Heart Association and Proud of It”

The Palm Los Angeles
Reserve with OpenTable
The Palm Los Angeles is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #183 of 9,898 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 11th Street
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
328 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Banned by the American Heart Association and Proud of It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you want a steak that your cardiologist will disapprove of, this is the place. Many main dishes have more than the maximum number of calories Shaq should eat in a day. Very expensive, but impeccable service and all food is great.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoCalTraveler91356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    50
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
338 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Old school excellence and simplicity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The menu is not exceptionally creative and the options are what you might expect for a steak house, but if done correctly, there is little need to deviate from this type of strategy. The Palm knows itself well: make a damn good steak, offer fresh seafood, and have a nice bar and wine selection and people will keep coming back.

We went around 9pm on a Saturday and it was not overly busy even though there were a few larger parties still spread throughout the restaurant. The restaurant is large and the tables are well situated so you can have a conversation even though there is alot of activity and noise throughout the room. We started with the bacon wrapped scallops and the beefsteak tomato capri salad. Both were excellent, in particular the scallops. While a little undersized, they were very fresh and sealed perfectly with a quick flash to brown them with the blasamic/basil reduction. My friend had the filet - which was excellent; I had the sea bass. This was a great fish, and it was surprisingly large. Incredibly tender and flavorful. Additionally, our server was a great guy and was very attentive, but not in a bothersome way.

Ok - it is rather expensive but we didn't come here to save money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BoCoMoTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
149 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Not bad, but overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Had a midweek business lunch here. I had eaten here a few years ago, and not much has changed. The atmosphere is kitschy, and the food is decent. The wine list is pretty small compared to what you'd typically expect from a steakhouse. And the lunch prices were reasonable. All in all, the meal was fine, but doesn't live up to most of these reviews.

I have no problems going back here, but I won't be the one making the reservations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I eat at the Palm when my wallet allows it. I first discovered the Palm in Las Vegas and it has been one of my favorite restaurants ever since. The serving staff is some of the best I have ever seen and everyone is always very friendly.

The food here is always excellent. I always try to order something different because I feel everything will be good, however I always end up going back to the bone-in ribeye with mushrooms. The salmon is also excellent, but honestly you can't really go wrong with this menu. If anyone is looking for a good bottle of red wine, the Frogs Leap cab is pretty good bargain. This place can definitely fill up during peak hours so if you are planning on making a night out of it, be sure to make a reservation ahead of time. I really don't have anything to complain about. The only bad thing I can really say is the prices, but you should expect them when you go to a place like this. So if you're looking for one of the best steakhouses in LA, look no further.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markham_J1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
128 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nothing beats the Palm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is one of the best of the best. In a city that was designed to fatten foodies up this place is a must. Even their dinner salad is awesome.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank salesguytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palm Los Angeles also viewed

 

Been to The Palm Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing