We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place outside NYC that can match NYC”
Review of Langer's

Langer's
Ranked #3 of 10,090 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
San Juan Islands, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“The only place outside NYC that can match NYC”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

As incredible as is Los Angeles incredible for having incredible things in the most wacky places, Langer's is a deli lover's paradise who craves the real stuff - pastrami, chopped liver, corned beef, and the dreamiest rye bread bread west of NYC. The sandwiches are for fressers. Gigantic, you get your money's worth. The delicious pastrami on the double cooked crusty edged rye bread with the softest tastiest insides will match any of the best in NYC including the Carnegie and whichever of the rest is your favorite. Very friendly staff. Only hangup from making it 5 stars is it is in a place where you wouldn't want to be at night, and they have fre parking in a lot a block or two away. Which you'll need. The attendant in the booth is great but shielded by heavy metal door and bulletproof glass. Langer's will even have a curbside pickup ready for you if you call ahead. Go early in the day, it is worth the visit to lovely downtown LA for the best sandwiches you will taste in the West.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    147
    28
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great #19”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very famous deli just west of Downtown LA in the Westlake district. What else can I say that hasn't been said before? The pastrami is about the tenderest juiciest you can find. Yes the #19 is fully satisfying with a great Russian dressing all on a great rye bread. Will be back many a time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lakevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We came to Langer's for breakfast and was very pleased with the food and service. While they are known for having the "World's Best Pastrami Sandwich", I was not in the mood for a sandwich in the morning, but I still wanted to try their pastrami.

So, I ordered their pastrami omelet and it was delicious! The pastrami was flavorful and tender and the entree came with a side of tasty hash brown potatoes, as well as toast or bagel.

The service was friendly and attentive. Our server Kevin has been working at Langer's for years, as have a number of other employees.

Now I understand why Langer's has been around since 1947. What is even more amazing is that it has managed to survive in the Westlake/MacArthur Park neighborhood...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SgtBuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good not great.”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Since my wife and I left New York 8 years ago, we've been craving an authentic deli-style pastrami sandwich. And having read all the great reviews on Langer's, we were eager to try their famous version of a pastrami sandwich which included cole slaw and russian dressing. The sandwich, although not bad, did not live up to my expectations. And at almost $15, the price only contributed to our disappointment. While some dishes are enhanced by additional ingredients, this IMO lacked balance. For me, Katz's in the lower east side still sets the standard of Pastrami sandwiches. Just meat between 2 pieces of bread. Simple. Perfect.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rtapales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love A Corned Beef On Rye?”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

You've got to love Langer's. One of the very few real Jewish Deli experiences in Southern California. In Los Angeles the deli is becoming extinct, sadly.

Be mindful of the some what seedy location but don't let this stop you from a visit. Closed on Sunday

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia-LAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Langer's also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Langer's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing